Irish Car Bomb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I was prepared to completely hate this cake, as I don't like whiskey or Guinness. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday, because he loves Irish car bombs and whiskey and Guinness, so it seemed perfect. And as far as he was concerned, it was! He loved it, and most of his friends loved it too! I wasn't a huge fan; the description is not lying when it says the whiskey flavor is dominant, but I still liked it more than I thought I would. I did use yellow cake mix instead, just because I didn't have french vanilla, and I couldn't get the Guinness to caramelize like it said, but I just drizzled it over the cake and it was perfectly fine. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CinfulySwt
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I am the original poster of this recipe! It's crazy to come back a few years later and see people trying (and rating) a recipe you created. I know that All Recipes edits everything before they post, and I am wondering if things were lost in translation when edited and officially published. When I originally submitted, my instructions were to prepare the cake according to the box recipes, only substituting 1/2 of the water for whiskey. This right here might produce different results as some box mixes are very different than others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This cake is not worth the time energy and effort. The Guiness caramel sauce never did caramelize and was more like a Guiness syrup. I would do a variation of it using a 9x12 pan and poke holes in the top of it and use the guiness syrup to saturate the cake. The Baileys butter cream frosting is nice,so you could add that on the top. I thinkjthe recipe needs reviewed. Caramel sauce usually has a fat element in it. This caramel sauce did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
made this cake last year and it was absolutely amazing! it will definetly be making an appearance at this years st. Pattys celebrations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday and it was a hit! Followed recipe except for the frosting..I cut the butter and sugar in half and added more Baileys. The Guinness did not caramelize, so I poured onto first layer of cake. I also put a layer of frosting in between the stacking and it worked out perfect! This simple but delish cake has inspired and motivated me to get in the kitchen and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this wonderful cake over the weekend for an Irish friend's birthday party. He loved it and so did everyone else. I did have to adjust the icing, adding about another 2 cups of confectioner's sugar and about 3T more irish cream ( i used carolan's) Because you could taste nothing but the butter. , however, it was probably one of the best icings ever, very smooth, wonder flavor, excellent. The next time i make this cake, I will double the stout beer carmel, as it was only enough four one layer. but still a wonderful recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Just wonderful, couldn't stop eating it. I also made it as cupcakes for a party, it went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I am in NO means a cook, but I really wanted to make my favorite holiday a good one! I found this recipe and gave it a whirl. I have to say, it was very difficult for someone like me but I did accomplish it! My difficulties were when I made the whiskey syrup, I made it quicker than I was thinking it would take me, so it hardened up before I could pour it into the cake, so I had to do it again. Next, was the caramel sauce! That was the worst part! If it was necessary to have it, I would get rid of it! It was soooo hard! And sticky. When I finally got it as caramelized as I could, which I had to do all of the additions everyone said in the previous comments, the parts that dripped over the cake, but landed on my cake dish would not come off! I had to scrap it off with a knife. I was so scared at that point. Next came the frosting. It didn't thicken up, which judging by 2 of the pictures, there's didn't either, I'm guessing because of the baileys. But it tasted great! Then came serving time. I was terrified, still about the caramel sauce, and that it was going to ruin the whole cake, make it hard to eat and sticky. But it was AMAZING! It was so soft and delicious! You could definitely taste the alcohol, no complaints here! I sent this recipe to my mother in law and sister in law who are both great cooks and waiting to see if they have the same difficulties I did. Great recipe. Would most likely do it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This cake was so much fun!! It has quite a few ingredients, and I was really careful making it, but came out great and everyone loved it. The car bomb theme and all the alcohol in it made it a party all it's own!! Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was really good! I especially loved the caramel sauce. HOWEVER, the frosting was very buttery. I think next time I will try to use 1 stick of butter instead of 2. It would definitely be healthier that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States