Irish Canadian Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My family loved this stew! I didn't have the turnips, but it turned out great without. Followed the recipe and it was perfect. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbill29
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I was able to use a nice hunk of leftover roast beef for this, which was already seasoned, so I didn't need the additional s&p. Didn't have the turnip, so omitted it, and I also only had Guinness Black Lager on hand, so used that and it turned out great!! This will become my go-to beef stew from now on - better than at the Irish pub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Didn't use veggie stock, used water and a bullion cube (what I had on hand). I used a regular dark lager (also on hand) and put it all in the crockpot on low. Exactly how I like my stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe is almost identical to the stew my Irish mother served in Montreal about once a week. Myself and all of my siblings still make it at least twice a month. Note, when we cook veggies throughout the week, we save the cooking water in a "stew pot" which is kept in the freezer. When the pot is full of veggie stock, it's time to make this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Georgina, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Best Irish stew with Guinness beer I've eaten. I made this for a ski party and it was a hit with everyone. It had rich, hearty taste. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
If you like the taste of dark beer, this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Hearty and healthy but oh-so-bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful stew. It is worth the extra trouble of going finding the beer. It has a flavor that only alcohol can do for a dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States