Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I took this to a work pot luck on St. Patty's day and everyone asked if it was an old family recipe! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This recipe was fast and easy to make. The taste is exactly as it is in Ireland. The only downside was that my 11 year old did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
I had Irish Brown Soda Bread at an Irish restaurant in Cincinnati and thought it was delicious. I think that they may have sweetened their bread slightly, but I prefer not to have my bread sweetened. I have nothing else to compare this recipe to and assume by the comments from Andrea and another reviewer that this is quite authentic. My husband and I both enjoyed this bread quite well and I plan on making it again and again. I served it with whipped sweet butter and a dinner salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
AMAING.. Just like my irish Grandmother used to make. Went well with my Irish Lamb Stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Well done Andrea! Really nice REAL Irish soda bread recipe - what do americans doooooo to recipes that cheapen them so much. Caraway? Fennel? Bread machine version? Keep it simple, keep it real, keep it Irish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Bread was tasty and so easy to make. I've made it using the powdered buttermilk and It is just as great. Eat it when cooled with softened sweet butter! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong (I doublechecked afterwards, though), but if this is "authentic" Irish Soda Bread, I weep for the Irish. I seldom throw bread (especailly bread I have made myself), but this stuff was inedible. Flavorless lumps of dried dough. I have learned my lesson: I have gone back the the absolutely best ISB recipe, from Marion Cuningham's "Fannie Farmer Baking Book." Her recipe calls for only four ingredients: flour, salt, soda, and buttermilk (ok, ok, I add a cup of yellow raisins, so sue me). No eggs, no fat...fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I'd never had soda bread before, but I loved this. I screwed up and had to double the recipe, so I had a lot of bread! But we ate every bite. Before he tasted it my boy friend said they looked like little rocks, but he ate 1 loaf for his dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Excellent. Just how I remember it from Ireland!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe made delicious loaves of heavy, old-fashioned wheat bread, with a thick crust. I added about 1/2 cup more oatmeal, and a little bit of water to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States