Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
I had Irish Brown Soda Bread at an Irish restaurant in Cincinnati and thought it was delicious. I think that they may have sweetened their bread slightly, but I prefer not to have my bread sweetened. I have nothing else to compare this recipe to and assume by the comments from Andrea and another reviewer that this is quite authentic. My husband and I both enjoyed this bread quite well and I plan on making it again and again. I served it with whipped sweet butter and a dinner salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This bread was so easy to make, & tasted great with the Irish stew we had on St Patrick's Day - I used the instant oats, & my second batch turned out better because I flattened out the loaves more - they really rise a lot, so need to start out at about one inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
At first I thought the dough was too gooey, but I stuck with the recipe, and the bread turned out great! My 5-year-old son gobbled up 3 pieces fresh out of the oven. And he's a very picky eater. It was even better the next day. This bread is not for people who like a light, fluffy bread. Our family has an Irish background, so this is just what we were looking for. Great with soup and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This recipe was fast and easy to make. The taste is exactly as it is in Ireland. The only downside was that my 11 year old did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Sorry, but there are better recipes for irish brown soda bread. This is OK but needs a bit more flavor. Suggest the following : add 1 tsp. baking powderl, 3 ozs. butter (not margarine or shortening) and a tablespoon or so of brown sugar. I think you will find it more interesting. I come from Ireland and have made many, many types of this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I took this to a work pot luck on St. Patty's day and everyone asked if it was an old family recipe! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Blann McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
AMAING.. Just like my irish Grandmother used to make. Went well with my Irish Lamb Stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I had high hopes for this recipe. But it really had no taste. I have made this in the past with butter, and it turned out much tastier. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
I thought this was easy to make and delicious. My family didn't care much for the taste. Definately a "heavy" bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Very hearty and not sweet. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St.Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States