Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Very good, simple bread. Great accompaniment to corned beef and cabbage on St. Patty's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablondegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This is a purist recipe! It's very easy to make and is in the oven in minutes. I halved the recipe and made one larger loaf. The ingredients should be just mixed together -don't knead the dough for too long. When shaping the loaf, I recommend making it flatter and wider than you would expect, no more than 1.5 inches high. This bread rises a lot! Scoring the bread about 1/2 inch deep is helpful in the rising process, too. I baked my loaf on a baking stone and it was ready at about 50-55 minutes. We served it hot from the oven with butter slathered on. Leftovers made for lovely toast in the morning. A warning to some: Even though the bread appears to rise considerably, this is a very, very dense bread. You may be surprised at how heavy and hard it is. This bread is definitely for those who are seeking out the rustic appeal of a traditional Irish brown bread. If you're looking for something a little lighter and more savory/sweet, I would recommend trying a more American-Irish recipe that includes a touch of sugar, raisins, or caraway seeds. Although some would say those recipes are not truly traditional, they are often very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Lam-Himlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This is just delicious, easy, bread to make. Wonderful with a little butter on a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Definately a keeper! This came out just like the brown bread I so enjoyed in Ireland (3 times a day, lol)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Pretty good, but not AWESOME. Went well with sausage and cabbage soup, soaks up juice well. I think I just prefer yeast breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Wow, this is really good. It came out perfect, as light as a non-yeast, non-white flour bread could be. I"m eating it with tomato soup, yum! It is a little bland, but I didn't expect it to be any different and I love the whole grain flavor. It would be great with all sorts of toppings. I'll make this for St. Patrick's day next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I followed the directions, but it went horribly horribly wrong. I had to substitute yogurt for the buttermilk, which, from what I've read elsewhere, should have worked. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hunter, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingSherri
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
i have no idea what "real" irish soda bread or "fake" irish soda bread is supposed to taste like....but this stuff is GOOD!!! it's very dense & hearty, so if you like your bread light and airy this is probably not the recipe you want. it took me about 5 minutes to throw everything together & i know from making biscuits that the less you work with the dough the better so i was very careful not to overmix. it did look a little rough, but it disappeared fast & i will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This bread was dense and too crusty. I was in Ireland once a week when I flew for an Airline. Never had bread like this and I followed the recipe to a tee. Very disapointing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This bread was really easy to make. I think it is definitely a good starter bread - without adding seeds, etc. though, it's a bit plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States