Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was just ok for me. I definately could have used a pinch more salt and more milk (my bread ended up being very dry). I will definatly increase both next time. I will probably also add some honey next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Have been looking for a simple bread recipe and this is it. Followed recipe to the letter and everything came out great. With two of the four rounds, I experimented and made one with raisins and the other without, topping them generously with demerara sugar (I know, couldn't leave well enough alone, but I love variety). Great with or without the additions. Just add butter or your favorite jam. Really satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chennette
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This came out really well. I halved the recipe and made some changes - no wholewheat flour, so I used plain flour and added a little wheat germ for interest (about 1/2 cup). Everything else is the same. I was a bit worried when the dough seemed so wet, but it just came out of the oven and it rose, it's cooked, it's golden brown and delicious. It's moist but not overly dense, and has an almost chewt texture with a crispy crust. Great with cheese. Can't wait to see what it tastes like later. I gave it 4 stars because I want to try it with the wholewheat flour first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: California, Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
My co-worker is from Ireland, and when she tasted this bread, she said it was as close to the bread back home as it could get. I made one big loaf (per my co-worker's instructions) instead of the four little ones. I baked it an extra 10-15 minutes, and it turned out real nice. You definitely need some REAL butter on it though; that really adds to the flavor. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Not as sweet as other soda breads I've had, but I guess that's because it's more authentic. Got lots of compliments about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I made this for St. Patrick's Day. It was a very dense bread that would be great with a stew or something else to dip it in. I made a second loaf with a bit of sugar and some raisins that most people preferred. We had the raisin bread thinly sliced with Dubliner cheese on it and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very easy to make. Yes, it's quite a dense bread and somewhat bland, but eaten with butter or jam, and it's not really an issue. Note: bake it on the middle rack of the oven. I did it on the second lowest rack, and the bottom came out too hard. Took 30 min to bake, and served it with the Special Irish Stew recipe. This bread would also go well with baked brown beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I've never been to Ireland, but this bread was a little dull. It tasted okay, but definitely nothing special in my opinion! If you like a "healthful" bread, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola May Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I couldn't believe how easy this was to make! And it was very tasty! I shared it with friends for St Pat's day and everyone enjoyed it! Dense and hearty, it's also great with jam. I use fresh ground wheat, so I just used that for all 5 cups of flour. I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk w/vinegar. Thanks for an authentic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Outstanding! We scaled down the recipe to 3 servings so that we always can make it fresh. It's not good for leftovers - but it makes a great hockey puck! For a quick accompaniment to dinner, I measure out the dry ingredients and put them in storage containers. Then when I come home from work, all I have to do is add buttermilk and pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States