Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Irish tradition holds that it is a cross cut into the top of the bread, not an x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was my first try at bread baking and it turned out great. The dough was a little dry so it held it's shape in the oven a lot more than I expected. Still, it was amazingly simple to make and the whole family loved it. I used parchment paper on the cookie sheet instead of greasing it. No mess, but the bottom crust was a little tough. 2nd time around I used a little more buttermilk until the dough stopped flaking and then baked on a pizza stone. Even better results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This bread is good for what it is. Not a ton of flavor, but it soaked up my salty soup very well! I scaled the recipe to 3 servings to make 1 loaf. I flattened it to about an inch before cooking, which seemed to work great. I also drizzled it with a tablespoon or so of melted butter before baking, and brushed another tablespoon on halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Just okay per my Irish hubby. This is a SUPER dense recipe, as are many Irish breads. I don't think I will be asked to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALLI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
YUMMY!! I am totally lovin' this recipe. I had tried a couple other soda bread recipes from this site and was really disappointed because they weren't anywhere CLOSE to what I was looking for. This one was!! It's not identical to my brother's recipe, but it is SUPER close, moist and dense with a wonderful hearty flavor. Would be fantastic with a hunk of cheese or a nice stew, and is great with some real butter. My son loved this bread too. I halved the recipe and made one large loaf, rounded and baked in a pie plate. I baked for 30 minutes at the recommended temperature then turned the heat off and let it sit in the oven another 10 minutes (it was already nicely browned, but I wanted to make sure the middle cooked through too). Seems to have worked perfectly! The bread is just fantastic, and easy to throw together. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is by far the best Irish soda bread recipe I've tried. I've tried it with buttermilk, soured milk, and regular milk, and it turns out well with each. I do add about a half tablespoon of sugar to the dough to bring out the flavors more, but it's good the way the recipe is written also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I pretty much followed the recipe exactly. The bread is tasty, though quite dense, and needs to be eaten sooner rather than later - otherwise you lose that nice crusty exterior and soft interior. I must say that I didn't care for it so much with just plain butter - though it was great with jam and butter for a breakfast treat. Not sure why, but I needed to add considerably more liquid to the recipe in order to knead it, otherwise it was like working a pile of dust. As the recipe says - knead lightly! I made a few loaves that turned out great, then over-kneaded a few and they turned into tasty bricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Just got back from Ireland and wanted to hold onto our experience. I made this for a recipe exchange and to give a few loaves away to friends and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Good, but not the same as what I had in Ireland. I'll try it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
ive never had real irish bread but i loved this recipe. i made it exact except i had no bread flour so i used all whole wheat. I would definitely make this again, perhaps into biscuits for easy serving (it was hard to cut) its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Orchard, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States