Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a wonderful whole grain bread - absolutely love the density of the whole grains. Does need a bit more salt if you are using the milk/vinegar substitute for buttermilk - will add more next time. Thanks for providing a fantastic whole wheat bread with a short turnaround time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabriellyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Sorry, but there are better recipes for irish brown soda bread. This is OK but needs a bit more flavor. Suggest the following : add 1 tsp. baking powderl, 3 ozs. butter (not margarine or shortening) and a tablespoon or so of brown sugar. I think you will find it more interesting. I come from Ireland and have made many, many types of this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Very Good! We had it with split pea soup and it was very satisfying. The only thing I changed was I added 3tbsp of sugar. Next time I will try without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Love this bread! I halved the recipe for just the two of us and had to add a bit of white flour in order to knead the bread. I don't have buttermilk on hand, but I do have buttermilk powder and I used that along with half milk/half water for the liquid. I also added 1/4 c currants. I don't know if the currants are authentic, but every soad bread I have ever had contained raisons or currants. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is a simple, fast and delicious recipe that makes such gorgeous little breads that your mates see you as a cooking goddess, slaving away for their culinary delight. Under an hour, I had fresh bread to take to work and a clean kitchen. I was surprised that the bread were not drier and harder as were the other soda breads I have eaten. My cook time was on the low end, so that probably made for a more moist bread. My secret for this bread (when not making it for soups and the such) is to dust the loaves with powdered sugar before cooking -- especially filling in the little ruts of the cross marks. As a snacky or breakfast treat the powdered sugar is ace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Maybe I over mixed the dough but mine came out pretty dense and hard to cut, but it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISTAAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Easy, authentic tasting and baked quickly! A new favorite to add to our traditional St. Patty's meal along with Irish Champ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
just what I was looking for, thank you. I cut the recipe in half, forgot to knead it, used soured milk in place of buttermilk and didn't have bread flour and the results were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Delicious! "Meaty and wheaty." My 10 year old son and I teamed up to make this, just as written. It's a savory bread, with heavy, warm textures - no sweet side here! Counterpoints corned beef wonderfully. And for the morning, it's 15 seconds in the microwave for slices, loaded with butter, and my sons say it's better than toast. It's remarkable how something so tasty and filling could be so easy to pull together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
A tip for cooling your Irish Soda Bread. Wrap the bread in a clean t towel and stand on its thin edge resting against the wall on a diagonal. This is what my Irish Mum always does. That way it cools a little slower and the crust is crunchy but not too tough. If there is any left over it's yummy toasted lighly the next mornong with jam. I'm off to bake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States