Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This did not turn out or look anything like the picture, however i am taking into the consideration that perhaps the baking soda has to be fresher than what i used?? We still ate it, but slathered it in honey and apple butter to cover up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was the easiest bread I have ever made! I did not have wheat flour, so I only used white. I had to add an extra 1/3 cup of flour or so because the dough was super sticky. Other than that, I used the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
OK, This is getting only 3 stars as it is a great base recipe, but needs work. First it totally needs 2 eggs and half a cup of vegetable/sunflower/flaxseed oil to make it soft and rise better. You can add 1/2 to 1 cup of extra buttermilk so you don't need to knead and just make it soft and sticky enough to put in a bread baking tin. Fits a 2 lb perfectly. You can also play around with the flours, I put in a total of 6 cups of whatever is at hand; brown flour, flaxseed meal, flaxseed whole, wheatgerm, rye flour, cracked rye... The result is a VERY healthy bread that is heaven. Top it with Kerrygold aged cheddar and you are in heaven... Lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was simple to make and it came out great. I cut the recipe in half because there's only 3 of us. My husband and 9-year old son loved it. We wanted a soda bread that didn't have the raisins and sugar and this was perfect. My baking time was closer to 25 minutes instead of 30 to 45. Thanks for this wonderful and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Not good at all! It was lacking flavor (a little more salt is needed) and they came out like rocks. I only mixed the dough enough to incorporate the flour mixture into the buttermilk. I'm a baker so this is not my first go round. Will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Super easy homemade bread! My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by szimmerman86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
So dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I really enjoyed this! It was even better the second day. I also halved the recipe so I got 2 loaves instead of four. Per another reader's suggestion, I added golden raisins, about a tablespoon brown sugar and a tsp baking powder. I used more buttermilk than called for because it seemed dry. 30 minutes was plenty of cooking time. I could see this working with other grains, too, such as millet in place of the oats. Yummy for St. Pat's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I will start by saying that I had never made Irish soda bread before, but have eaten my fair share. I really wanted a "traditional" type bread, no sugar or eggs or raisins. I halved the recipe to just make one medium size loaf. The only other change I made was the ratio of wheat flour to bread flour. I used 1 1/2 cups wheat to 1 cup of bread (3 cups wheat to 2 cups bread for the full recipe). It is definately a dense and heavy bread, which is just what I wanted. The flavor is great, and it was perfect for sopping up the Irish stew I made for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'd been looking for a good brown bread recipe. Now, I've found it; thanks! I bought the powdered buttermilk from Amazon (Saco cultured buttermilk) and it works great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States