Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong (I doublechecked afterwards, though), but if this is "authentic" Irish Soda Bread, I weep for the Irish. I seldom throw bread (especailly bread I have made myself), but this stuff was inedible. Flavorless lumps of dried dough. I have learned my lesson: I have gone back the the absolutely best ISB recipe, from Marion Cuningham's "Fannie Farmer Baking Book." Her recipe calls for only four ingredients: flour, salt, soda, and buttermilk (ok, ok, I add a cup of yellow raisins, so sue me). No eggs, no fat...fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Bread was tasty and so easy to make. I've made it using the powdered buttermilk and It is just as great. Eat it when cooled with softened sweet butter! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Well done Andrea! Really nice REAL Irish soda bread recipe - what do americans doooooo to recipes that cheapen them so much. Caraway? Fennel? Bread machine version? Keep it simple, keep it real, keep it Irish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
too dense, not enough flavor, cooks unevenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I took this to a work pot luck on St. Patty's day and everyone asked if it was an old family recipe! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Blann McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I had high hopes for this recipe. But it really had no taste. I have made this in the past with butter, and it turned out much tastier. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
At first I thought the dough was too gooey, but I stuck with the recipe, and the bread turned out great! My 5-year-old son gobbled up 3 pieces fresh out of the oven. And he's a very picky eater. It was even better the next day. This bread is not for people who like a light, fluffy bread. Our family has an Irish background, so this is just what we were looking for. Great with soup and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
AMAING.. Just like my irish Grandmother used to make. Went well with my Irish Lamb Stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
This just didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Very hearty and not sweet. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St.Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States