Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Terrific soda bread. I'll put in a touch more salt next time, but this is great and everyone had seconds. Thanks, Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipe made delicious loaves of heavy, old-fashioned wheat bread, with a thick crust. I added about 1/2 cup more oatmeal, and a little bit of water to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Excellent. Just how I remember it from Ireland!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
i tried this recipe twice, and was twice disappointed. although the taste was passable, the texture was odd - like thick oatmeal, with the consistancy of glue. concerned that i had handled the dough too roughly on the first try, on the second try i let the formed loaves rest a bit before baking, but that didnt help. the crust formed well though; perhaps the addition of an egg would lend the innards a more "bread-like" consistency? although i found the bread inedible on its own, the recipe wasnt a total waste - the sturdy crust and tough innards stood up very well as a bread bowl for tomato lentil soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Even though I left it in the oven a touch too long (I thought 30 minutes could not POSSIBLY be enough, but I think it may have been!), this was great. It was greatly appreciated by my official Irish taste-tester as well. He said it was the most "authentic" Soda Bread I have made so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Perfet. Just like how they serve in Ireland. As someone else mentioned, you never find raisins and such in brown bread there. No one can believe how easy the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I made this the same night I made Oatmeal Soda Bread from this site and liked the latter much better. I don't know much about soda bread, but this didn't seem to have a lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This bread is incredibly dense. The crust was so hard I thought it was a goner, but when I opened it up and spread butter on it it was yummy. Not what I was looking for, but still pretty darn good. My partner ate a whole loaf before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I'd never had soda bread before, but I loved this. I screwed up and had to double the recipe, so I had a lot of bread! But we ate every bite. Before he tasted it my boy friend said they looked like little rocks, but he ate 1 loaf for his dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
After using & making Soda Bread recipes, this one was the best one. Came out just the way it supposed to. Was great to soak up the juice from the Irish Stew I made to go with it. Will keep this one in my recipe book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States