Irish Brown Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Absolutely Delicious. I added 1/2c. of golden raisins to half of the batter per request from my family whom I made it for. Tastes great with cream cheese or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Good taste, family really enjoyed. I had the bread in for 30 minutes and it was overcooked. I will watch it much closer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Finally! When I was in Ireland, I lived almost exclusively on soup and brown bread, I was addicted to it. When I got back to the 'States, I tried to get a recipe or find it at restaurants, only to be presented with a whitish bread with raisins or currants in it! WRONG! This is the real deal! Thank you for submitting it, it is sooo easy and tastes great, especially when dipped in soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very easy to make, good dense texture, BUT so bland! I think it does need some sweetener, or should just be used as a conduit for spreads. I had mine smothered with sweetened cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This crusty, dense bread had a really good flavor. The loaves are nice to look at, as well. I chose this recipe because it seemed to be the most authentic. The others are too "americanized". I wanted soda bread, not a biscuit/currant loaf! It was also very very easy, I have never made any kind of bread before, and I was extremely gentle with it as suggested. The only thing I changed was I ground my oats, for smoother texture. I made this on St. Patty's Day with lamb stew. The bread was really addictive with butter, I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Simple to make and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Yum! I've never had soda bread before and didn't know what to expect, but my family enjoyed this bread. I forgot to buy buttermilk, so I used 1 part sour cream to 2 parts yogurt and 2 parts whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Regarding the review of this dish prior...."GHETTO" measuring cup??? What is THAT supposed to mean?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Needed to tweak the amounts a bit (but that could just be my ghetto measuring cup =/. Very very very tasty as a vegan bread, just replace the milk soy milk! (1c soy milk + 1T lemon juice) very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dogscanlookup

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I have never tasted soda bread before, but if all soda bread is like this, then I will likely not try it again. It did look really cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States