Irish Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
First time making this. The recipe was easy enough to follow, but was not thrilled with the result. The bread seems to dry out very quickly, and is a bit bland for taste. I followed the recipe as is, however after reading some of the reviews may try it again with molasses instead of sugar to see if that livens it up any. I'm tempted to cut back on the oats if I made it again as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Rudolph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gerlegerle
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delish! Used non-fat Greek yogurt...OMG the loaf will be gone before it cools!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is the BEST recipe! I use more yogurt than the recipe calls for and the bread turns out do moist and delicious. My whole family and extended family love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very heavy loaf. Hubby said it was very tasty and great the next day for toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Excellent especially with honey butter. Just like the brown bread I loved while visiting Ireland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Me and my.mother enjoyed brown bread in Ireland so for st. Patrick's day I wanted to make it to bring back memories. This taste EXACTLY like the bread in Ireland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My family loved it! We have a small top oven so I cooked it at 350 for 40 minutes and it had the perfect crust and the inside was completely done. I did round loaves but cut a deep X in the top as others had suggested. I didn't need to add any milk either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Closest to true Irish Brown Bread that I've found yet, the oatmeal really makes it perfect. I used greek yogurt, and treacle (or molasses) instead of the white sugar for a little added depth of flavor. It took quite a bit more milk than called for to make a workable dough. If you slash the top deeply it will create four distinct squares of bread, very handy for serving and slicing. If you don't slash it deeply it will need to cook longer, at least 5 minutes, or the center will still be gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great recipe, just like the brown bread we had in Ireland. I have to admit, I did change the sugar to molasses. It just seemed more appropriate, more like what they would have used long ago. Treacle (molasses) is popular sweetener over there. I usually have to use several teaspoons of milk too, like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This bread is delicious! It's dense without being dry or gummy. I used plain Greek yogurt instead of regular and it turned out wonderful. My only problems were the salt (not enough) and the baking time. I had taken the bread out after about forty minutes and cut it open to find that the center was still doughy. I put it back in for about ten minutes, wrapped in foil to prevent the crust from scorching, and it came out beautifully. I'm making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States