Irish Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
"Isn't authentic" "isn't authentic"... Blah, blah, blah. Did you all actually make the recipe? If not, I don't care how inauthentic you think it is, do not review if you did not actually cook it and eat it. I thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Beautifully laid out picture - very classical. Trying to recreate an Irish breakfast in North America is not without it's challenges. Black and White pudding is not available in many locations. American breakfast links are of a different consistency to Irish sausages, links are more rubbery for a start and have a different flavour. Back bacon is again almost impossible to find, since 'streaky' bacon seems to be the only sort available and again, this is almost exclusively 'smoked' - it seems brine, or dry salt cured bacon has never been heard of? I guess Canadian bacon makes somewhat of a substitute. Also, plain white or brown soda bread, or wheaten bread would be traditionally served with breakfast, since fruited bread is considered more of a dessert. In this breakfast, pictured above, I would agree with the fried tomato, mushrooms and the eggs. As other reviewers have mentioned, what are called baked beans in Ireland, most closely resembling pork and beans in the US, would be another addition to the plate. An Americanism that I believe does work well with an Irish breakfast is loosely grated fried potato, ie hash browns. Of course, if one made all of these additions, it would indeed be a mammoth breakfast and probably overload your system for the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I haven't made this but spent quite some time in ireland and this lacks too many items to be an irish breakfast. black (blood pudding) and white pudding, eggs, grilled tomato. it's a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
My husband and I thought this was good with the Irresistable Irish Soda Bread. The sweet and moistness of the bread went well with the rest of the breakfast. It was fast and easy. I also stacked the bacon, bread, tomato, and egg on top of each other so I could taste everything in one bite. I couldn't fit the mushrooms on top but I still had them on the side and with every bite. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
It's missing some very vital ingredients.Where's the sausage,beans(baked) and black pudding?Whenever we have a big night out,the next morning we will head to our local cafe here in Dublin for a big fry up and it always has these things along with the bacon ,eggs etc.That's a true Irish fry up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
The only thing this needs is some black and white pudding and some potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jefferson, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
not bad but add some sausage,potatoe bread,baked beans,white or blood pudding,fried bread(crustless white bread fried until golden,ketchup or brown sauce(similar to steak sauce) and a steaming mug of tea and that's a good irish fry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I'm giving it a two because of the fried eggs but the veggies with it were bad. Next time we'll have some hash browns or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
For a truely authentic experience you'd need to find some black or white pudding, and for a truely magnificent hangover cure add baked beans and lashings of tea and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, County Waterford, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States