Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I added gruyere and a bit of grated onion for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I have nary a drop of Irish in my veins, yet I think I made this pretty well! I used mashed garlic potato flakes and everything else was the same in the recipe. Fantastic! My not-so-traditional St. Paddy's dinner turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
No flavor, followed recipe to a tee. when the first batch turned out bad, I added a lot more seasoning, garlic powder, grated onion, pepper, it helped but i still didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is very good, however, I added one med. grated onion, about 1 1/2 tsp. of kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, used 2 eggs because 3 large potatoes was more than 1 1/2 cups. Served with sour cream and applesauce, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I could taste a bit of the raw flour. I wonder if this is because I had to double the recipe as I got a bit excited on shredding the potatoes in my new food processor and ended up w/ more than 1 1/2 cups. I will reduce the flour a bit next time as the concept is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Yeah, I finally found a boxty recipe!!! My dad used to make these when we where little and we would bring a ton of them to the Irish American club on Sundays. It would take us all morning to prepare them and they would be gone in a minute once we set them out. Gotta love those hungry Irishmen. He didn't used mashed potatoes though I don't think, as I was quite small at the time. I do remember him adding grated onions to his though. Simply the best!!! When I make them for my family we serve them with real butter and a dollop of our cream.. and a side of applesauce, added some good bacon or sausage links and called it a meal. The kids always got so excited when they heard we were having Boxty for dinner, one of the few times (lol) I could get them to help peel potatoes. oooohhh I am getting so hungry for them now!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil leprechaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I know it's me, but for some reason, every time I make these, I end up smoking up my entire house! They are sooooooo good it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollymariemay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I really hate to say it, but this really isn't at all what I ate as a child with my highly-traditional Irish Catholic family. Unfortunately, the family's recipe has since been lost... just a friendly suggestion if you want to tweak this recipe... you should add about a tsp. of baking soda, at least a tsp. of salt (pepper optional), and quite possibly, depending on your taste, some fresh, chopped green onions or chives. Serve with LOTS of butter! :) Oh, and don't use olive oil for frying... use canola or vegetable oil. Irish food isn't supposed to be slimming! ;) Hope I didn't offend anyone.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
It is probably me... I can never get this Boxty/potato pancake thing down! Maybe it is because I use a non-stick pan instead of a skillet. Can never get it to brown nicely. So, if you are making this, use a skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Not bad at all. I already have a man but I'll train more to make some better boxty to be sure to keep him ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States