Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
My kids loved them ... Me? I need some onion, cheese, or veggies in my potato pancakes but not fair to ding the recipe for that. Not sure why I didn't envision them being so bland. I do like hash browns. I would make this again if I ever buy a mandolin. Meanwhile, I recommend against making them w instant mashed and defrosted shred. Yes, a double shortcut but this was part of a huge meal so needed these quick. My result 3 stars or less. Recipe 3-4 stars. Happy St Patrick's Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Never heard of it before - thought I'd try it with this year's St-Paddy's day supper accompanying the Irish stew. I absolutely love potato latkes - this reminded me of them. It was good but lacked what latkes bring - the flavor of onion. Still, they were good - I'd do them again. To minimize burning the outside before the inside is done - it should say in the recipe at what temp to fry them at on the stove. Trial & error on my stove showed 3 min each side on medium (or just under).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
My dad made these every Sunday morning to take to the Irish American club in Cleveland,Ohio. He would make them using 10 lbs of potatoes!!! The club members would always look forward to Bernie Curleys Sunday morning Boxty!! RIP DAD WE MISS YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Curley Hencye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is good Boxty, but not great Boxty. It's too bland. My mom used to make this dish with grated onions added in, and fried in bacon grease. that would be great Boxty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I made these for St. Patrick's Day dinner, with no changes at all, and the family loved them - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Because of being orange Irish, I used pumpkin puree instead of the leftover mashed potatoes in this! I chose to make these with rye flout. I omitted the oil, frying on a pan that had been sprayed. At first I thought them rather strange, but these are a comfort food, so I ended up really enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Irish Boxty is great anytime of the year! Served it with flank steak and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was very tasty. Added the onions and used instant mashed potatoes and served them to my Irish boyfriend. All thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I added gruyere and a bit of grated onion for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States