Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tripodious
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Not bad. Very easy and has a nice texture. Would like to try with some diced sauteed onions in it. Very traditional Irish recipe as is. Served with butter on top and sour cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tripodious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Best when eaten with brown sauce(Chef)or any brand of ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Very good! Love the ease of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was delicious. I loved the crispy texture and wonderful potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is awesome! My Dad used to make a variation of this. He would either use just mashed or just grated potatoes. He would actually use the rolling pin on the mashed to make potatoe pancakes, just like his Irish mother used to do. For the grated he would just squeeze them together and fry. Very different tastes and textures. Don't tell Dad, but this Irish Canadian likes this recipe the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Minnedosa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
OMG!!! This Irish-Canadian gal loves her boxty..this is amasing! I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and I made 12 mini-boxty and they all came out golden brown and soft. Also I used spelt flour, I'm allergic to wheat (came out grand). Fed them to my sister and she said they reminded her of Ireland. We ate them with ketchup, but will definately come up with something a little more creative next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
very good side dish. better than I expected. I just needed something to use the egg I accidentally broke and found this! I will make these again for sure! I used instant mashed potatoes and grated red potato with skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Loved the texture and taste. Easy recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My dad is from Ireland, and I wanted to make him something special for his 71st b-day. He said it was a little different from what he remembers, but he did eat it. He said that there were different kinds of boxty, and that his mother would make it as one big patty in the pan, and then cut it up. He also said he remembers her boiling it. Thank you for allowing me to make my dad something to remind him of his youth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
We just made this recipe and it is good! I will definately make this again with all of my leftover mashed potatoes. The texture was great. I am going to try it with some onions, shredded cheese and diced ham as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States