Irish Boxty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
No flavor, followed recipe to a tee. when the first batch turned out bad, I added a lot more seasoning, garlic powder, grated onion, pepper, it helped but i still didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is very good, however, I added one med. grated onion, about 1 1/2 tsp. of kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, used 2 eggs because 3 large potatoes was more than 1 1/2 cups. Served with sour cream and applesauce, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I could taste a bit of the raw flour. I wonder if this is because I had to double the recipe as I got a bit excited on shredding the potatoes in my new food processor and ended up w/ more than 1 1/2 cups. I will reduce the flour a bit next time as the concept is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Yeah, I finally found a boxty recipe!!! My dad used to make these when we where little and we would bring a ton of them to the Irish American club on Sundays. It would take us all morning to prepare them and they would be gone in a minute once we set them out. Gotta love those hungry Irishmen. He didn't used mashed potatoes though I don't think, as I was quite small at the time. I do remember him adding grated onions to his though. Simply the best!!! When I make them for my family we serve them with real butter and a dollop of our cream.. and a side of applesauce, added some good bacon or sausage links and called it a meal. The kids always got so excited when they heard we were having Boxty for dinner, one of the few times (lol) I could get them to help peel potatoes. oooohhh I am getting so hungry for them now!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil leprechaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I know it's me, but for some reason, every time I make these, I end up smoking up my entire house! They are sooooooo good it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollymariemay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I really hate to say it, but this really isn't at all what I ate as a child with my highly-traditional Irish Catholic family. Unfortunately, the family's recipe has since been lost... just a friendly suggestion if you want to tweak this recipe... you should add about a tsp. of baking soda, at least a tsp. of salt (pepper optional), and quite possibly, depending on your taste, some fresh, chopped green onions or chives. Serve with LOTS of butter! :) Oh, and don't use olive oil for frying... use canola or vegetable oil. Irish food isn't supposed to be slimming! ;) Hope I didn't offend anyone.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
It is probably me... I can never get this Boxty/potato pancake thing down! Maybe it is because I use a non-stick pan instead of a skillet. Can never get it to brown nicely. So, if you are making this, use a skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Not bad at all. I already have a man but I'll train more to make some better boxty to be sure to keep him ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I don't even have to make this recipe to know it is AWESOME. this is one of the first recipes i memorized as a kid.... Brooke, you just brought back a very fond childhood memory of my Grandmother and my Mom. My Grandmother and my Mom used to make these for us when we were kids. I read the recipe and it is the exact same thing... AMAZING! I love it! Happy St Patrick's Day! Wooo Whoooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Char Char

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
we added minced onion and a bit of garlic, wonderful flavor , blend between hash browns and potato cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States