Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
A very good starter recipe. Without adding extra spices, this comes out kind of bland. I added garlic, peppercorn and it turned out great: the meat was very tender and the veggies came out perfectly cooked as well. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was great! I made it even more special by adding the peppercorn spice packet that was packaged with the brisket I used (actually, I think it would have been very bland without it). My brisket was only 3 lbs., so I cooked it only 3 hours. You will know it's ready when you insert a fork, the meat comes up easily. I used fewer ingredients (added the last 20-30 minutes of cooking): 1 onion, about 15 baby carrots, 10 new potatoes (cut in wedges), and only 1 head of cabbage. I served it with 'Irresistible Irish Soda Bread' from this site. The 2nd time I made this, I used a slow cooker. Put the meat, seasoning packet on top of it, onion wedges, and poured in 1/2 cup water. Cooked on low for 6 hours. Took the meat out (leaving the onions and broth), added the potatoes (cut in wedges), then carrots, then cabbage, and cooked on high for 3 hours. Perfect! Wow, what a great Irish meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This recipe is excellent. I got a "corned beef" brisket, only difference that it came with a seasoning packet you add to the boiling water. Follow this recipe's cooking time is key to a very tender meat! It was cold and rainy out, I made some cornbread to go with it! A smashing success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My family actually enjoyed my yearly St. Patty's day corned beef dinner this year! They even asked for seconds. I'm keeping this recipe for sure. I did make two tiny changes to this recipe - I added the seasoning packet as other users have done and I also poured a bottle of beer over the roast before adding the water to cover. Yum, Yum, Yum! I could eat this every week! (post note on Aug. 5, 2008 - I have made this 3 more times since March! My family actually requests this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This is the best corned beef recipe! It's so simple and good. My husband is always ready to eat this corned beef. I serve it with a horseradish cream sauce: 1/2 Sour cream, 1/2 mayo, 2 tablespoons horseradish sauce and 1 tablespoon dried parsley. Combine ingredients and let flavors blend in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This brings back good memories of childhood. I cooked this the day before I was going to eat it. When I put the meat into a storage container, I ladeled about an inch of cooking liquid into the container, to keep the meat moist, which worked beautifully. I had a smaller piece of corned beef, so I decreased the cooking time some, and only used 1 head of cabbage. Based on the way everything cooked I would put the potatoes under the cabbage. Then they, too, would have that wonderful corned beef flavor. I was feeling sort of homesick for this dinner, so I am grateful to have found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I have been making corned beef dinners this way for years! I always use the seasoning packet that comes with the beef, use the broth over the vegetables, and sprinkle a little malt vinegar over them. A side of horseradish or mustard for dipping the meat goes well also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent, easy, one pot meal. Sour Cream on the side makes the meat taste out of this world. Boiling in a pot really makes the difference;do not try to cook in a crock pot unless you have at least 10-12 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoneStar Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Hickory Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Delicious! Reminded me of what my mom used to make when we were growing up. My husband loved it and even my little ones gobbled it up. I even got my pickiest child to try carrots tonight! He loves the corned beef the most, though. Thanks for sharing, we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Wonderful! So easy and so delicious! I used my biggest stockpot for this and it turned out great. I added parsnips along with the other vegetables.... really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States