Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Wow, very tasty and fairly easy. The key to this recipe is to having a large enough pot when you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This recipe was great. I am not a big fan of really salty meats, so the corned beef was overpowering for me, I could only eat a small amount.(I didn't add any salt..it comes salty). However, the flavors of the vegetables were great. If I made it again, I would add celery stalks to it. The broth makes good gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The most important ingredient is missing here. Add rutabaga (cut up like the potatoes) at the same time as you add the cabbage. Mash them like the potatoes with butter on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
i have to say this is the best recipe i have tried ,since i have been in canada.this is the proper way to cook corned beef and cabbage, for get all those extra ingredents people add. this is home cooking thanks peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This is the way I have always cooked this dinner, it is simple and classic old time slow cooking. An added avantage is that it pretty much cooks itself although it will be the cook getting the compliments. It doesn't get any better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This brings back good memories of childhood. I cooked this the day before I was going to eat it. When I put the meat into a storage container, I ladeled about an inch of cooking liquid into the container, to keep the meat moist, which worked beautifully. I had a smaller piece of corned beef, so I decreased the cooking time some, and only used 1 head of cabbage. Based on the way everything cooked I would put the potatoes under the cabbage. Then they, too, would have that wonderful corned beef flavor. I was feeling sort of homesick for this dinner, so I am grateful to have found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Wonderful! So easy and so delicious! I used my biggest stockpot for this and it turned out great. I added parsnips along with the other vegetables.... really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I made this last year on St. Patrick's Day and again this year. Very easy and VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FORADLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
absolutely delicious! so easy. it made our st. patricks day party just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Very good.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States