Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yum Yum! Great comfort food - just like mom used to make. One tip: If you added the spices from the packet, you can strain the broth through a metal mesh-type strainer so you won't be getting a mouthful of those little seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I do not have much experience with cooking corned beef and cabbage, but needed a recipe that didn't require a slow cooker. This one worked out okay, however, I had essentially the same experience as Jennifer did a couple of years ago. Here's what she had to say........"I halved this receipe because my corned beef was only 2.75 pounds. It turned out ok, but it was kinda bland, needed salt and other seasonings. The only thing was that it was kind of tough. It didn't "fall apart" like the receipe said." I noticed some additions that some of you made, like adding the seasoning packet that comes with the corned beef and adding a can of beer in the water to cook the beef. I'll definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Wonderful! I added garlic and pickling spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Awesome. My family usually does not like cooked cabbage, but they loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Timmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
YUM!! Came out so much better than my experience with a crock pot. Meat was so tender and veggies were cooked to perfection. This is the recipe I will use from now on. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My family actually enjoyed my yearly St. Patty's day corned beef dinner this year! They even asked for seconds. I'm keeping this recipe for sure. I did make two tiny changes to this recipe - I added the seasoning packet as other users have done and I also poured a bottle of beer over the roast before adding the water to cover. Yum, Yum, Yum! I could eat this every week! (post note on Aug. 5, 2008 - I have made this 3 more times since March! My family actually requests this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was great, I boiled my beef two hours in the morning, then a hour before dinner, layer the cabbage, beef, and potatoes, and boiled for 45 more minutes, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good. My brisket was considerably smaller, so I didn't add as many vegetables. The corned beef was super-tender, and the vegetables were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Thank you so much Ann for this recipe! I have never been able to get the timing of all the components of a boiled dinner to work. Your recipe did it for me! No mushy potatoes (I used red potatoes because that’s what we like), no overdone cabbage, no soggy carrots, and the brisket was perfection! I added the spice packet that came with the corned beef and some extra caraway seeds. Divine! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a family favorite. I have made it several years in row for St. Patrick's day. The only changes I make to this recipe is adding 2 tsp. each of pickling spice and ground mustard. I also add 4-6 cloves of garlic peeled & halved with the meat and onions in the beginning. When taking the onions out the cut up be careful! They are filled with boiling water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States