Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipe is so easy and the meat comes out so tender. At first I thought that boiling the meat would make it tough.........I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
good recipe, though i seriously doubt that it was your grandma's from Ireland. maybe Irish grandma from America. I am first generation and we NEVER had corned beef. that's an American thing. Irish ate smoked (pork shoulder) butt, never corned beef. But still, excellent recipe which pleases my dad (second generation, Chicago Irish). Always have to make both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annk5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This came out perfect. I didn't change anything but my pot was on the smaller size. I got it all to fit in it. I will keep this one forever. Thanks to your great grandmother from Ireland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Awesome and easy. Really need a minimum of 5 lbs of corned beef for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
used 2 lbs corned beef, not a fan of cabbage, added the peppercorn packet, simmered for 2 hours added potatoes for 30 minutes, forgot about the carrots, opps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
PERFECT! Every year when I make this something is not quite cooked or something is over cooked...with this recipe everything was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I also add a rutabaga, cut into one inch pieces, at the same time as the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yum Yum! Great comfort food - just like mom used to make. One tip: If you added the spices from the packet, you can strain the broth through a metal mesh-type strainer so you won't be getting a mouthful of those little seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I do not have much experience with cooking corned beef and cabbage, but needed a recipe that didn't require a slow cooker. This one worked out okay, however, I had essentially the same experience as Jennifer did a couple of years ago. Here's what she had to say........"I halved this receipe because my corned beef was only 2.75 pounds. It turned out ok, but it was kinda bland, needed salt and other seasonings. The only thing was that it was kind of tough. It didn't "fall apart" like the receipe said." I noticed some additions that some of you made, like adding the seasoning packet that comes with the corned beef and adding a can of beer in the water to cook the beef. I'll definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Wonderful! I added garlic and pickling spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States