Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My corned beef came out perfect using this recipe as a guideline, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Now this came out great! Very tender and moist! I could not find the small potatoes I wanted, but just cut up larger ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I looked this up just to refresh my memory, but had never put onions in the dinner before. Boy were they an improvement, so good! As was the dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAIRBEAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I don't know if was the corned beef itself or the way it was cooked, but it was not salty at all. I think that layering the cabbage and potatoes on top made a differance. Hubby loved it and had leftovers in his lunch next day. One thing I did differant was take the meat out to remove any fat on it. Then I patted about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar on top of the meat then put it in the oven (350) until the sugar bubbled. That is from my sister's recipe, then I let the meat cool before slicing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
it is ok.... but really only b/c corned beef has such a distinctive flavor. Next time I will use some sort of brine to boil it in. I thought it needed more of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
good recipe. although a little history.....corned beef dinners aren't authentic ireland.....they are american.....adopted by the irish immigrants in new england. But it's a delicious recipe notheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great!! Definitely add spices, this last layering part makes the cabbage perfect. I am making this now....almost done. Second time cooking it. Worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Wonderful! Just as others have said - meat falls apart with the long boiling. I did use the bottle of beer, and added the spice packet, and DID NOT rinse the meat. The package says not to, otherwise you wash away all the seasonings. I think that's why some people have thought it was bland. Somehow the au jus makes the cabbage almost buttery, and too good. 18 month old daughter had thirds on meat, and also ate the cabbage, potatoes and carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Yummy. I used the spice packet as well and threw in a few cut up parsnips for good measure. My mother never fed me parsnips and I found out when I was older that they're really good. I've read where people put a can of beer in with the water and brisket but I personally don't find that necessary at all. We serve this with a hot mustard recipe from the cookbook 'Applehood and Mother Pie'. It's an amazingly delicious mustard recipe with a good kick to it. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipe is so easy and the meat comes out so tender. At first I thought that boiling the meat would make it tough.........I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States