Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Like other reviews I put the finished brisket under the broiler a few moments after covering with some mustard and brown sugar to let it caramelize. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I use brussel sprouts instead of cabbage, my family likes these better. I also put in a turnip and use russett potatoes with half a dozen pepper corns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this recipe because we are moving, and my dutch oven and crockpot are packed. The meat and veggies came out perfect. I was pleasantly suprised as to how tender the meat was. I did add a bottle of beer to the pot for some extra flavor. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this is THE authentic recipe that my aunt shioban has always made and it was passed down from the family...she still lives in ireland so i trust her...lol...but my family adds 3/4-1" cut carrots (always on diagonal as my aunt says they are sweeter that way...and btw, we always have bubble and squeak the next day if there are leftovers...but we donot add ham or bacon or any spices...just dice all the ingredients (including corned beef) and put in a hot cast iron pan (treated of course so no oil), let it fry up and served...i make my own mustard/horseradish sauce and there is always enough left for bubble and squeak...if not, it is simple to make...HAPPY ST. PATRICKS DAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I've been making this recipe for 35 years. My family doesn't like the spices in the cabbage so I put the seasonings in a tea ball so we get the flavor but not the seeds in the cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
my mothers mother made this and my mom made it for us and i have been making this pretty much the same way for 35 years its awsome i add a home made chicken broth that i make and freeze all the time rlly makes alot of flavor happy st pats day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I also use the spice packet or a combination of peppercorns, garlic and pickeling spices. My mother used to add an extra step; after the corn beef was done and cooled slightly she would brush one side with mustard, sprinkle on a little brown sugar and place under the broiler until the sugar melted and formed a thin glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We made this with ham and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I found the cooking time to be too much. Everything was overdone......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
How could Ann Hester be wrong? Bill Hester So. DARTMOUTH, MA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Hester
Living In: South Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States