Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Just like what my mother used to make when I was a kid. Because this is a large meal I gave a few of my friends "care packages". They gave me back my bowls at the end of the night in an attempt to have them re-filled. My other half gave this meal an 8. Very very easy to make, but something you must start early in the day. If I was to change anything about this recipe, I would add more carrots. For those who thought this meal was a bit bland, it is the way it is supposed to taste. I have known many people who add vinegar to their plate for taste (I hate the stuff so just use a bit of simple salt). I was requested to make this again on St. Patty’s Day by one friend and asked for the recipe from another. I will defiantly make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPollyPrissyPants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
My cousins from Ireland loved it. They were impressed that we could duplicate some of their favorite dishes even though they say it wasn't exacly like home. But I think they were lying. They sure scarfed it up with no leftovers. Great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
This was great! I made it even more special by adding the peppercorn spice packet that was packaged with the brisket I used (actually, I think it would have been very bland without it). My brisket was only 3 lbs., so I cooked it only 3 hours. You will know it's ready when you insert a fork, the meat comes up easily. I used fewer ingredients (added the last 20-30 minutes of cooking): 1 onion, about 15 baby carrots, 10 new potatoes (cut in wedges), and only 1 head of cabbage. I served it with 'Irresistible Irish Soda Bread' from this site. The 2nd time I made this, I used a slow cooker. Put the meat, seasoning packet on top of it, onion wedges, and poured in 1/2 cup water. Cooked on low for 6 hours. Took the meat out (leaving the onions and broth), added the potatoes (cut in wedges), then carrots, then cabbage, and cooked on high for 3 hours. Perfect! Wow, what a great Irish meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I halved this recipe, as it was just for my husband and myself, and it still made a massive amount of food. Luckily, it tasted so good that it all got eaten up in record time anway. I followed the directions pretty much exactly, except that I cooked the potatoes down in the broth with everything else instead of on top of the cabage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Good recipe - will probably come back to this recipe, at some point in time - but not something I "can't wait" to try again. I personally prefer corned beef that's been boiled for hours, then baked in a brown sugar/dijon mustard glaze - so this boiled-only version was a bit bland for me. (I wound up adding salt to my dinner plate to perk it up a bit...) The corned beef was surely tender - the potatoes, carrots & cabbage were all fine, too. My partner thought the meal was good - not anything out of the ordinary, but good. Like I said, I think this is an okay recipe - it's just not a "stellar" one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exnyker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Very good and so easy. I also added the seasoning pack that came with the meat. You do need a really big pot for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
easy and excellent! I also added the spices included in the beef brisket pack. I strained the broth and threw out the old onion. Then added fresh veggies, plus celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My husband made this for dinner and everyone LOVED it. Since they have all been to Ireland, I guess you can say this tastes authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was easy and tasty. The vegetables could have used a bit more flavor, but still tasted nice and weren't overpowering. I will probably make this again--for St. Patrick's Day next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
All I can say is WOW! Thought my corned beef was good before, tried this recipe because it seemed so uncomplicated - and my family can't stop talking about it. Invited more guests than I entended to, so had to cook a really big batch. Thank goodness a few couldn't make it and I had enough leftovers for more guests the next day (our 2nd St.Patricks dinner). Now all the kids are asking, "Do we have to wait another whole year for more"? Maybe not 'cause I'm thinking of trying to brine my own beef, so we won't have to wait. DO TRY IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States