Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is almost identical to the wonderful recipe my Norwegian mother used to make. The only difference was that she added peppercorns and a couple of whole bay leaves. This was one of my favorite childhood dishes, and I'm making it right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I have been making corned beef dinners this way for years! I always use the seasoning packet that comes with the beef, use the broth over the vegetables, and sprinkle a little malt vinegar over them. A side of horseradish or mustard for dipping the meat goes well also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Everyone raves that this is the best boiled dinner ever! I also like to make it with Ham. (bone in shoulder picnic style) this adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My husband and all his buddies go crazy over this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
So simple, it was perfect exactly as described. It even got a self proclaimed cabbage hater to demand more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was pretty good. I used a three lb. corned beef brisket. I also used baby white potatoes which were a little over done with 30 minutes. I will probably make this again - maybe in a couple years. Corned beef is not something we regularly eat but it was good. Thanks for the recipe. It is super easy and pretty tasty. Also, I added the seasoning that comes with the meat to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
A very good starter recipe. Without adding extra spices, this comes out kind of bland. I added garlic, peppercorn and it turned out great: the meat was very tender and the veggies came out perfectly cooked as well. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I'm sure this is the traditional Irish way to cook corned beef but was looking for something with much more flavour. It was moist but utterly blahh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I halved this receipe because my corned beef was only 2.75 pounds. It turned out ok, but it was kinda bland, needed salt and other seasonings. The only thing was that it was kind of tough. It didn't "fall apart" like the receipe said. I'll try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
jaclyncourtney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States