Irish Boiled Dinner (Corned Beef) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Awesome. My family usually does not like cooked cabbage, but they loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Timmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
YUM!! Came out so much better than my experience with a crock pot. Meat was so tender and veggies were cooked to perfection. This is the recipe I will use from now on. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My family actually enjoyed my yearly St. Patty's day corned beef dinner this year! They even asked for seconds. I'm keeping this recipe for sure. I did make two tiny changes to this recipe - I added the seasoning packet as other users have done and I also poured a bottle of beer over the roast before adding the water to cover. Yum, Yum, Yum! I could eat this every week! (post note on Aug. 5, 2008 - I have made this 3 more times since March! My family actually requests this!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was great, I boiled my beef two hours in the morning, then a hour before dinner, layer the cabbage, beef, and potatoes, and boiled for 45 more minutes, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good. My brisket was considerably smaller, so I didn't add as many vegetables. The corned beef was super-tender, and the vegetables were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Thank you so much Ann for this recipe! I have never been able to get the timing of all the components of a boiled dinner to work. Your recipe did it for me! No mushy potatoes (I used red potatoes because that’s what we like), no overdone cabbage, no soggy carrots, and the brisket was perfection! I added the spice packet that came with the corned beef and some extra caraway seeds. Divine! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a family favorite. I have made it several years in row for St. Patrick's day. The only changes I make to this recipe is adding 2 tsp. each of pickling spice and ground mustard. I also add 4-6 cloves of garlic peeled & halved with the meat and onions in the beginning. When taking the onions out the cut up be careful! They are filled with boiling water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is almost identical to the wonderful recipe my Norwegian mother used to make. The only difference was that she added peppercorns and a couple of whole bay leaves. This was one of my favorite childhood dishes, and I'm making it right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I have been making corned beef dinners this way for years! I always use the seasoning packet that comes with the beef, use the broth over the vegetables, and sprinkle a little malt vinegar over them. A side of horseradish or mustard for dipping the meat goes well also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Everyone raves that this is the best boiled dinner ever! I also like to make it with Ham. (bone in shoulder picnic style) this adds great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States