Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this in the slow cooker and added celery and swede.. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We have just finished this stew, I was going to take a picture but it didn't last long enough for that! I took other reviewers advice and added spices. I added about two tablespoons of rosemary, a tsp of garlic, tsp of parsley, salt and pepper, a teeeny sprinkle of thyme and a half teaspoon of italian seasoning.Thank you for the recipe :) Oh also...I kinda started it wrong. I cooked the meat as said, and then I put it in water with four oxo cubes...then let it all soak for about an hr on low heat since I was cooking it on the stove. then I added my potatoes I used baby new potatoes so I didn't have to peel (ha!) then I mixed the tomato paste with some water and another oxo cube, then added it to the stew then finally added the can of beer. Will defo...DEFO be making this again. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: ???, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
My family loves this recipe. I've found that some rosemary garlic seasoning really pulls it all together and gives it a great flavor. The only other change I make is slow cooking it on the stove. It makes the whole house smell great on a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Hyatt McAfee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a great stew but as others said, needed some spicing. Only change was I added the tomatoe paste to the skillet used to brown the beef for 20 secs to get rid of the tinny taste and then added the beef broth and deglazed the skillet. Pour into crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this in the slow cooker on high for 6 hours and it was delicious. Easy and simple the way Irish stew should be - no need for fancy ingrediants. I follwed the recipe exactly except that I added 1 cup of fresh mushrooms when there was about 2 hours of cooking time left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNAmouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I felt that the recipe didn't have enough liquids. I added two cups broth. I also reduced the stout to six ounces as I had some very strong tasting beer. The result was a very mild and delicious broth with just the right amount of stout taste. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
It was a great recipe but, the stout beer was way to stout for my family. Gave it a wangy taste that my kids didnt enjoy much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I made this recipe on St Patrick's day for my family and only added 2 xtras leeks and parsnip and still my family felt it was very bland. I would definately add seasonings to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
It was good. I added salt, pepper, and seasoning salt to it, but that is just because we like salty food. I will definitely make again. My cousin wanted the recipe so he could hand it out to everyone. I served it with home-made sourdough bread, although wheat bread would be good. Would also be outstanding in bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Fabulous recipe. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes lining the bowl (just like my local Irish pub serves it), and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States