Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good and easy. Followed recipe to the letter, except I only used 5 potatoes because I was running out of room in the crockpot. Dipped with crusty bread. My 3 year old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I finely chopped a bit of bacon, browned it, and removed to brown the beef in the bacon drippings. And I used about 3 TBS tomato paste. I brought to a simmer on the stovetop and then cooked in 350-degree oven for about 2 hours. My stew was very thick without the cornstarch, and I don't care for that texture in my soupts and stews, so I omitted. It was so thick that I actually needed to add a splash more beef broth, and I also added a splash of Guinness (just to reinforce the flavor a bit) and some frozen peas when I removed from the heat. Oh, and to make sure the stew wasn't bitter from the Guinness, I added about a TBS of minced raisins before putting in the oven. It may not be traditional, but it's perfect for us and very good on a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was pretty good, the stout soaked into the meat reaaaaal nicely. Does need some kind of salt or spice, though. I forgot to add the cornstarch and water at the end but it turned out nice and thick anyway. //ryAn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So easy to make and delicious. Did not need cornstarch to thicken. Did need to add spices to help with flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This stew was just OK--nothing exceptional. I brought it to a potluck and only half was eaten. My husband also wasn't crazy about this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Declicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Liked the combination of ingredients but it definitely needs seasoning. Add your own seasonings to your taste but keep it IRISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Dawn Fischer
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'm not sure what went wrong where, but I had the entire recipe cooking for over 12 hrs and the potatoes, and even some of the onions just WOULD NOT COOK. Maybe that was more my cookers fault, but still. Despite delicious gravy (Which I spiced up with garlic poweder, pepper, salt, seasoning salt, and cajun seasoning), I think I'll try for a casserole bake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dawn Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this stew for dinner tonight, and it was absolutely delicious! I had second thoughts as I was putting it together and realized there were no spices! I used tenderizer on the meat and a little salt and pepper but other than that I made as directed. Tastes great! Only thing I'd change is possibly adding a little more broth, but it was a nice thick hearty stew. And the meat was very tender. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I had Bud on hand and I added a few frozen peas to add a little color. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States