Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe was great. It tasted even better the next day. I used a citrus dark beer which gave it a little zing in the taste. Whole family loved it. Even the little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Absolutely the best beef stew!!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Totally authentic! Tastes just like the Irish Stew we ate at the Bleeding Horse in Dublin, Ireland. Added 1tsp of rosemary, 2tsp of Worcestershire Sauce and seasoned the beef with salt and pepper when coating it with the flour. I also added an additional 1 cup of Beef Broth because it was too thick, as well as a Knorr Beef Stock tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanGogh0526

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made some changes though. 1) I didn't have any stout (apparently I got drunk last night.) but I did have a bottle of Red Hook Audible. (Slightly hoppy lighter ale.) 2) I don't peel potatoes. I like the peels, and it seems pointless/wasteful. I cut them into thick slices. 3) I doubled the broth.(On accident. Slightly hung over.) 4) I made a dark roux instead of using cornstarch. This gave it a slight roasted nutty flavor. I added this about an hour prior to finish. 5) I put a dash of liquid smoke in there. The stew came out awesome. I cooked it for 6 hours on high in the crock pot. The changes I made, like all changes, were due to preference and necessity. Many times when I am looking for a recipe, I don't want to run to the store and so I make substitutions. I think the spirit of the recipe remained intact, and this stew has a strong spirit indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe needs seasoning!! I added salt and pepper and a bay leaf. I made a mistake of pouring another can of Guinness to add more liquid, it turned out too bitter for me. Next time I will try more beef broth. Good recipe, simple enough to give it another try but I will keep tweaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I found that my slow cooker wouldn't hold all the veggies in the recipe. I used half the potato's & half the carrots. Everything else stayed the same. Absolutely amazing!!!! This dish is my new St. Patty's Day tradition!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good recipe, but could use some changes. Half as many potatoes, more liquid, and some spices. I added a sprig each of fresh chopped rosemary and thyme. Also, make sure you mix the beef broth and tomato paste in the same pan you browned the beef in. Make sure to scrape off all the remnants of the browning and mix in with the broth, adds a lot of flavor to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
My girlfriend loved it - the others complimented me on it. I, however was not blown away. Although it cooked on low for 8+ hrs - the meat was not as tender as I'd like. I added all sorts of spices to 'taste it up' - still lacking - can't give it a 5*. Don't know that I'd do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
First time trying a slow cook recipe, and it was so easy to do, and tasted amazing. Although I didn't use Guinness as it said. Instead I tried a bottle of Kona Brewing Company's Pipeline Porter, and it was still a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I fixed this yesterday for my husband. It filled my 6 quart slow cooker full. It was so hearty and tasty. I had nearly 3 quarts left over and took some to a neighbor and put some in the freezer (for our college kid). Both my husband and the neighbor loved it. This is for sure a keeper and will be cooked several times over the cooler weather. One thing.. next time I am going to add some peas to it for extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States