Irish Beef Stew with Guinness® Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've made this twice before, and am embarking on my third pot! I adore it! The first two times, I've followed the recipe exactly. This time, I've add a bit more meat and potatoes and some carrots, just to see how it would taste... I had to add in a little bit of beef broth to cover everything. But wow is it fantastic! This is a certified hit in our house. Especially with a homemade loaf of country bread to clean the bowls with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made the way te recipe is written using carrots and potatoes - yields a very tasty beef stew which I thicken with a little flour and water, if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great recipe,I had to double up the beer, but it was awesome, goes well with an Irish Soda Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Thanks... this beginner (used to be a full time working mom, now a stay home mom) is learning to love my slow cooker. I tried this recipe and it was a BIG hit! Mixed in sweet potatoes and added a lot of beef bullion and a pinch of flour to thicken. Used Guinness Draught beer... got a thumbs up from the hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe because I love the Guinness stew at a local Irish pub. This was a good substitute, just not as good as I am used too. I will probably make it again, just not when the teens will be home, they didn't care for it much, but what do they know about good food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyjazzd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thorntown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this recepie for St. Patty's party I hosted. It came out quite well. I did change it up a bit because I did not have all the ingredients. I used two potatoes and 2 sweet potatoes and added extra carrots and celery to add a bit more color. I also added beef broth. It came out more like a soup but It was delish. The guiness gave it a kick!! I guess it did not taste too bitter because of the sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great recipe. I made a few modifications: I recommend making sure you use stout, since the tab thing in the draft can change the soup a bit. Also, since the beer can leave a bit of a bitter aftertaste, throw in some finely chopped prunes (about 1/4 cup or less); they will dissolve but will take away the bitterness and add another layer to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
If you are using Guinness or any other beer it is not gluten free, because beer is made with barley, a grain that contains gluten. I made this using gluten free Redbridge beer (made with surghum) and cut the garlic down to 2 cloves. I served it with gluten free biscuits from Glutino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States