Irish Beef Stew with Guinness® Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great recipe. I made a few modifications: I recommend making sure you use stout, since the tab thing in the draft can change the soup a bit. Also, since the beer can leave a bit of a bitter aftertaste, throw in some finely chopped prunes (about 1/4 cup or less); they will dissolve but will take away the bitterness and add another layer to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Word of Caution -- I learned the hard way that simmering one's St. Paddy's Day corned beef in Guinness yields a bitter corned beef. -- DANGER WILL O'ROBINSON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
If you are using Guinness or any other beer it is not gluten free, because beer is made with barley, a grain that contains gluten. I made this using gluten free Redbridge beer (made with surghum) and cut the garlic down to 2 cloves. I served it with gluten free biscuits from Glutino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made the way te recipe is written using carrots and potatoes - yields a very tasty beef stew which I thicken with a little flour and water, if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this recepie for St. Patty's party I hosted. It came out quite well. I did change it up a bit because I did not have all the ingredients. I used two potatoes and 2 sweet potatoes and added extra carrots and celery to add a bit more color. I also added beef broth. It came out more like a soup but It was delish. The guiness gave it a kick!! I guess it did not taste too bitter because of the sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've made this twice before, and am embarking on my third pot! I adore it! The first two times, I've followed the recipe exactly. This time, I've add a bit more meat and potatoes and some carrots, just to see how it would taste... I had to add in a little bit of beef broth to cover everything. But wow is it fantastic! This is a certified hit in our house. Especially with a homemade loaf of country bread to clean the bowls with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This stew was bitter, thin like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
To me the stout did make it quite bitter. I made my stew in a slow-cooker. My husband likes just about anything and he did not care for this. Sadly, I will not be making this again. At least not with the stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States