Irish Barmbrack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
the recipe says pour in pan. This batter didn't pour. maybe I did something wrong. tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Only reason I didn't rate as 5 stars is that the instructions are not complete. Do NOT discard the tea, as I did initially. It came out very dry, and I read other versions of barmbrack to see what I did wrong. Be sure to add the tea back into the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
As I was putting this together I got worried that there was no fat in it and kept checking the recipe to see if I made a mistake! Then it was soooo thick I knew something had to be wrong, but I went ahead and baked it.....UNBELIEVABLE. It is rich and delicious and I will make it again and again. Thumbs up from the whole family. And with 7 of us there is always someone who doesn't like what I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I made some undoubtedly blasphemous substitutions to the recipe, but still quite liked it. Veganized by replacing the egg with 1/3 cup of applesauce; used a weird lemon tea concoction of jam-like consistency instead of marmalade; gave up on the rest of the orange zest when my grater only spat out ~1/4 teaspoon after all my elbow grease. Didn't squeeze out the tea water, as some people suggested - I probably wouldn't have been able to mix it otherwise! The final product has a pretty nice consistency, though the lemon tea mix gives it a slightly strange aftertaste. I'm sure if I had stuck to marmalade, it would be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
As to oven temperature - you really have to watch a cake before the time stated because ovens differ. I have rarely, in many, many years of baking, found a recipe that was dead on. Also, ovens differ too. 350 is good for this cake and it also gives the celcius heat for people in Europe. I lower the heat by 25 degrees after about 30 mins and do so with most cakes that have fruit. Thanks (after all the above) for a lovely and different barmbrack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Thank you for this lovely recipe. I made it for a St Patrick's Day party. I followed the directions pretty much with the exception of adding a 1/2 tsp cardamom (just cuz I like it). I used pineapple-apricot jam because I couldn't find lemon marmalade. I used black raisins, dried apricots and cranberries. Not sure if the jam and raisins made it a bit too sweet. I'll probably cut the sugar to 1 cup next time, and try orange marmalade. I do want to make this again. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this for a lunch celebration honoring Martin Luther King and all nations to honor my Irish roots. Bread could have been very dry but I squuezed as little liquid from fruit as I could-dough was very dry crumble when mixed, I added 1/2 cup hot cooled tea and baked 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My batter didn't pour -was crumbly, so added water. Next time I'll reduce flour and save the soaking tea to moisten if needed! Glad to have read the 'over cooked' reviews, as it is still baking and I'll check @ 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Tasty, but very heavy. This is a VERY dense cake. As other reviewers said, you have to spoon the batter into the pan...there is no pouring this one. I let the cake cool for at least two hours, but it still stuck in the pan. I put some hot water in my sink and sat the pan in it - the cake loosened right up and came out without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this for our St. Pattys dinner... For dessert. I did the recipe exact except I could not find lemon marmalade, so I used orange. I cooked this in a bundt pan on 325convection for 40 minutes. I chose a fruit mix with apples, pears, apricots, plums. TASTY. After it cooled I put a vanilla glaze on top. We all enjoyed it, even the kids. It even works for breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States