Irish Barmbrack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
It is eaten as a bread, not a cake and is a regular sight at the breakfast table! Excellent toasted - but only on one-side of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I really enjoyed the taste and texture of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was delicious. I was a little hesitant at first. Soaking the fruit in tea was little odd but it came out really good. Would make a great morning cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was frankly surprised at how good this was. I made it for a St. Pat's day party (held a few days before it) and it was devoured with oohs and aahs. Instead of sticking objects in the bottom, I made little fortune-cookie like strips of paper, wrote "predictions" on them and rolled them up, putting them in the hole in the center of the cake. Everyone was given one of these with each serving, and it was great fun reading them aloud one at at time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Federico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this March 17th 2009, and unfortunately it came out really hard, even inside behind the crust, and we couldnt eat that day but we put in a whole apple sliced up and placed it and the cake cut in slices into a air tight container for the night. By the next day it was edible and the whole family enjoyed it. The appearance of the cake looked ok, but I think it overcooked. I cooked it right according to the directions, and baked it for an hour, at the temp it asked for, but I think that perhaps for our oven, that at that temp it was too much. Since they want another one today (the other is all gone), I will make another and bake for 45 minutes, not the whole hour, and check it and that may work for us. It was a good cake, the only thing is we couldnt eat it day one because it was hard and dry. The apple really changed all that. I have to wonder if the original recipe was for the celsius temp and that maybe when it was converted to farenheit (if it was) that that has something to do with it or if it was just our oven is a bit different. Allowing for these differences, I gave it four stars, not the highest rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was delicious!I was looking for an Irish dessert that didn't have alcohol in it to take to a church function. This was a hit! I did make a few changes, to accommodate the ingredients I had on hand. I used dried blueberries, cranberries and apricots for the fruit, Celestial Seasonings Madagascar Red Vanilla for the tea, and I didn't have lemon marmalade, so I used orange fig preserves. The batter appeared to be a bit dry, and I was a little worried, but the cake itself turned out moist and delicious. Just make sure you sort of push the batter down in the pan and flatten it. I got many requests for the recipe. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is now a regular in my cook book! I made it for a class for Samhein (Celtic Halloween) , and it was a big hit. I was cheap and used only golden raisins for my class, but any dried fruit mixture is great, I love dates personally. The batter is ridiculously thick, so I don't sqeeze excess moisture out of the fruit, just run off the worst of it, and I have to press it into the pan to bake, but it turns out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this tonight for a St. Patrick's Day Party. I followed the recipe exactly. I think that the bake time is much too long though. The bread was very hard after baking for this long. I should have checked it earlier, but my oven is pretty true to temperatures and recipes. Next time I will check the bread sooner. The taste was nice though, a mix between a fruit cake and a spice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was very good and easy to make. I used a mix of dried fruits that were diced (apples, apricots, raisins, peaches, and pears). I was a little concerned with how thick my batter was when I was making it; I had to scoop out spoonfuls and spread them around my pan. It came out great though and was really good sliced and buttered then broiled for a couple minutes. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love this recipe. I used a mixture of sultana raisins, dried cranberries and apricots. Great texture and flavour. I also dusted it with icing sugar to finish it off. Pretty and delicious. Thanks Brooke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States