Irish Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Topping this cake is key. By itself, it's a bit dry, but has a nice flavor. I sprinkled the top of the cake with a little cinnamon before baking and served the cake with a tart lemon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Lovely dessert...the shortbread crust and topping are a nice counterpoint to the applesauce (which basically becomes apple butter during the baking process). I used homemade applesauce, which has more flavor than most store brands. Do sprinkle a little cinnamon on the cake prior to baking. The cake took about 60 minutes to bake. Not sure what happened with the cake of the rater who said it was dry...mine was not. I'm very glad I made it in spite of the 'dry' comment! I used the Lemon Sauce 1 recipe (since I had the lemon left from the cake) and it's perfect (cut back on the nutmeg and use a bit of cinnamon) as a finishing drizzle. Yum! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABUBAKRS
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
It was nice, but I got sick just as I was eating the last bite :). I put lemon sauce and whipped cream on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this dessert in the winter when I wanted a fruit dessert but the fresh fruit selection was scarce. I made one following the recipe and then I made another one with cherry pie filling. For the cherry one I omitted the lemon zest, cloves and cinnamon. Both were very good! Not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicola
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Easy recipe , I made my own apple sauce and used mixed spice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...Delicious! I didn't have a 9x9 square baking pan, so I used a 9" round pan and that worked well, except I had some 'dough' left over, but that was fine. This baked up beautifully, and was very tasty...sort of reminded me of a cross between a cobbler and a pie. Topped with a sprinkle of cinnamon before baking, as Pam noted in her review, and served with whipped cream and a drizzle of caramel. This was a big hit for dessert tonight...a keeper, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 08, March 2014 ~ I am glad I waited to write the review about this cake. The first night we tried it was the day I baked it. We found it to be a little dry, even with the 'Lemon Sauce II' from AR, that I made as a topper. (Submitter suggested a lemon sauce). By covering the leftovers with a tight fitting lid, the dessert softened up and we enjoyed it so much better. If I were to make this again, I would cut back on the crust/topping layers or add about 3/4 cup more applesauce. I did sprinkle a little cinnamon on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Recipe Group selection for March 8, 2014 – Many of the reviews commented that the cake was dry; therefore I used 2 cups of applesauce and made sure to remove the cake from the oven just as the edges started to brown. In addition, because of their suggestions, I sprinkled a little cinnamon over the top. I loved the ease in making this dessert. The cake was delicious and had wonderful texture and flavor, and you’ll love the touch of lemon in the crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made for Recipe Group. I thought this was good, nice lemony flavor in the background. I made it in an 8x8 pan. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over natural applesauce and on the top. I just mixed the batter with my hands, pressed down the bottom layer and crumbled over the applesauce. Makes a nice coffecake! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States