Irish Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I've made this cake twice, and have found that using chunky applesauce gives it a nice texture. As some people thought it was a bit bland, I decided to add in about 1/4 cup pumpkin butter once and some apple butter the next time; both were great additions. Love that it's quickly turned out with things I usually have on hand. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Dominiaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This cake needs to be made a day in advance. After it came out of the oven and cooled, it was bland and not very good. I wrapped it up and figured it would probably be thrown away, but the next day I tasted another piece, and it was totally different from the day before. The flavors came together beautifully, and it was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Wow, this is really good! I used unsweetened applesauce and it still came out tasting sweet. It was not dry at all. I rarely have lemons on hand so I used about 2-3 Tbs lemon juice. The taste isn't as strong as some reviewers say they can taste the lemon zest, but it does add a bit of liquid that helps to keep the dough together. The dough resembles shortening/flour "crumbles". Just grab half of it and mold into a ball, then press into the glass dish. Cover with applesauce mixture, then grab remaining "crumbles" and sprinkle over the applesauce. It should cover the whole pan. Press down lightly, add some cinnamon for flavor and color, bake for 40-45 mins and it turns out incredible. Can't wait to add ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I thought this was just OK. Cooked for five minutes longer than suggested and the "dough" was still a bit underdone. that being said this is not at all a cake consistency. It really is a dough rather than a batter. The taste was alright but not very flavorful. The lemon sauce is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made for Recipe Group. I thought this was good, nice lemony flavor in the background. I made it in an 8x8 pan. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over natural applesauce and on the top. I just mixed the batter with my hands, pressed down the bottom layer and crumbled over the applesauce. Makes a nice coffecake! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Recipe Group selection for March 8, 2014 – Many of the reviews commented that the cake was dry; therefore I used 2 cups of applesauce and made sure to remove the cake from the oven just as the edges started to brown. In addition, because of their suggestions, I sprinkled a little cinnamon over the top. I loved the ease in making this dessert. The cake was delicious and had wonderful texture and flavor, and you’ll love the touch of lemon in the crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 08, March 2014 ~ I am glad I waited to write the review about this cake. The first night we tried it was the day I baked it. We found it to be a little dry, even with the 'Lemon Sauce II' from AR, that I made as a topper. (Submitter suggested a lemon sauce). By covering the leftovers with a tight fitting lid, the dessert softened up and we enjoyed it so much better. If I were to make this again, I would cut back on the crust/topping layers or add about 3/4 cup more applesauce. I did sprinkle a little cinnamon on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...Delicious! I didn't have a 9x9 square baking pan, so I used a 9" round pan and that worked well, except I had some 'dough' left over, but that was fine. This baked up beautifully, and was very tasty...sort of reminded me of a cross between a cobbler and a pie. Topped with a sprinkle of cinnamon before baking, as Pam noted in her review, and served with whipped cream and a drizzle of caramel. This was a big hit for dessert tonight...a keeper, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by nicola
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Easy recipe , I made my own apple sauce and used mixed spice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this dessert in the winter when I wanted a fruit dessert but the fresh fruit selection was scarce. I made one following the recipe and then I made another one with cherry pie filling. For the cherry one I omitted the lemon zest, cloves and cinnamon. Both were very good! Not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States