Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is wonderful. I highly recommend it. I made it exactly as the recipe. I don't like reading reviews where people write a lengthy paragraph of how they changed and added. That to me is making your own recipe and not rating the original recipe. Thanks for this wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful flavor. I made just a couple of adjustments because the sauce was really spicy (I like that but too spicy for the kids). First off I doubled the recipe then did 3/4 brown sugar, 1 1/2 c. ketchup, and then added 2 T. molasses. I also only put in 1/2 an onion instead of 2. I think next time I'll cut them up really small instead of slicing. We put them on ribs tonight & it was soooo good! Thank you Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was good with additions for my family. This was too vinegary and spicy for the kids. Addition of 2 tablespoons of water, 2 tablespoon ketchup, 1 tablespoon dark corn syrup, 1 teaspoon brown sugar. Nice and sweet with a slight heat undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was fantastic! Was very simple to make, and the taste can't be beat. Not to mention it's much healthier than the stuff in the store. I simmered on low for an extra 20 min. and it thickened up nicely! Thanks so much, I'll never buy the bottled stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ann Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I let this age several days, which allowed the vinegary flavor to mellow. It was very good indeed. I'll be making it for gifts come Christmas. I did make some changes: I halved the amount of vinegar (used water to make up the liquid volume) and substituted balsamic instead of distilled white. I used lime instead of lemon juice. I diced the onions and carmelized half of them before adding to the sauce. I used half the amount of sugar and used tomato paste instead of ketchup (I really don't like sweet BBQ sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Excellent! I used it as a marinade on chicken and baked the sauce and chicken in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes. It turned out so good! I think it's one of my husbands new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
My family and I loved this recipe. I used it on ribs and grilled them adding sauce each time I tuned the ribs. It was a hit with the kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a great barbeque sauce. I prefer a zesty, more savory bbq sauce and this was perfect! The entire two cups were used on one slab of baby back ribs and we all wished that we had more for dipping. I will probably double the recipe the next time I make this. FYI: I like to read reviews and often apply reviewer suggestions when I make a recipe I find here. For this recipe, I left out the vegetable oil (as suggested), used dried minced onion in place of fresh (since I don't like a strong onion flavor or texture) added 1 tsp of chopped garlic (as suggested) and substituted apple cider vinegar for white vinegar, as suggested and due to personal preference). I will definitely be making this again! Thank you BOBEVERLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KidsAreReadingUsborneBooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I was very surprised how good this was. The ingredients were not intuitive for me, and the smell of the sauce base boiling was NOT very good! I baked chicken with this sauce, reserving some for a final basting - and it was really, truly great, and I was so pleased that it wasn't heavily laden with sugar like so many sauces. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Very good recipe! I chose it because I was pressed for time and could put it together fairly quickly with ingredients I had on hand. I included everything except the Liquid Smoke. I added a bit of cornstarch for a thicker spreading consistency while barbequing. Very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States