Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was a tastey sauce! I wish I would have made more of it. I know next time to scale it up quite a bit. I used half red onion and half yellow. I also pulled the onions out so the kids could not see them. They were yummy by themselves. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My family LOVES this sauce and are constantly asking me to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonfire!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My friends loved this sauce and asked me to make it again for his birthday. I used it on pork ribs in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I let this age several days, which allowed the vinegary flavor to mellow. It was very good indeed. I'll be making it for gifts come Christmas. I did make some changes: I halved the amount of vinegar (used water to make up the liquid volume) and substituted balsamic instead of distilled white. I used lime instead of lemon juice. I diced the onions and carmelized half of them before adding to the sauce. I used half the amount of sugar and used tomato paste instead of ketchup (I really don't like sweet BBQ sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
i never made homemade bbq sauce before and i couldn't believe how good it was.i did cut back on the vinegar and peppers because i don't do to well with spicy stuff but this was delish! it was so good i was sipping it from a cup. i kept going back just taking little sips it was crazy. oh yeah i also added much more brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
First time I've ever made BBQ sauce from scratch. I really like a sweeter sauce, so I added much more brown sugar. Very nice, will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I hate to do this, but we followed the directions to a T, and thought this was just awful. The spice was nice, but it was way, way too acid, it was like oily vinegar with some ketchup thrown in. I think we are going to play with this one a little bit, though, it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I didn't have kethcup on hand, so instead i used a can of tomato sauce and paste. I let it cook on low for about 15-20. It was to tart, but that could be because of my substitutions. I'm not sure. I used it on pulled pork sandwiches, it was really good. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good and very easy but it really doesn't make a lot. I would double for my 4.5 lb beef brisket in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Perfect quantity, perfect basic recipe. Just what I was looking for. Easy and fast, too! I've made variations on this simply by adding a jalapeno, or some hot chili sauce, molasses, whatever you feel like. But this is a great basic to add to your repertoire. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States