Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I let this age several days, which allowed the vinegary flavor to mellow. It was very good indeed. I'll be making it for gifts come Christmas. I did make some changes: I halved the amount of vinegar (used water to make up the liquid volume) and substituted balsamic instead of distilled white. I used lime instead of lemon juice. I diced the onions and carmelized half of them before adding to the sauce. I used half the amount of sugar and used tomato paste instead of ketchup (I really don't like sweet BBQ sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
i never made homemade bbq sauce before and i couldn't believe how good it was.i did cut back on the vinegar and peppers because i don't do to well with spicy stuff but this was delish! it was so good i was sipping it from a cup. i kept going back just taking little sips it was crazy. oh yeah i also added much more brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
First time I've ever made BBQ sauce from scratch. I really like a sweeter sauce, so I added much more brown sugar. Very nice, will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I hate to do this, but we followed the directions to a T, and thought this was just awful. The spice was nice, but it was way, way too acid, it was like oily vinegar with some ketchup thrown in. I think we are going to play with this one a little bit, though, it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I didn't have kethcup on hand, so instead i used a can of tomato sauce and paste. I let it cook on low for about 15-20. It was to tart, but that could be because of my substitutions. I'm not sure. I used it on pulled pork sandwiches, it was really good. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good and very easy but it really doesn't make a lot. I would double for my 4.5 lb beef brisket in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Perfect quantity, perfect basic recipe. Just what I was looking for. Easy and fast, too! I've made variations on this simply by adding a jalapeno, or some hot chili sauce, molasses, whatever you feel like. But this is a great basic to add to your repertoire. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe was great. I added honey also because my husband likes sweet and spicy turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe for barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful flavor. I made just a couple of adjustments because the sauce was really spicy (I like that but too spicy for the kids). First off I doubled the recipe then did 3/4 brown sugar, 1 1/2 c. ketchup, and then added 2 T. molasses. I also only put in 1/2 an onion instead of 2. I think next time I'll cut them up really small instead of slicing. We put them on ribs tonight & it was soooo good! Thank you Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This BBQ sauce is AWESOME! I needed a quick BBQ sauce as my husband decided to grill a whole mess of meat for me, to get us through the next few days and I found that there was nothing in our cupboards to slather the chicken with. Mine came out lighter than the picture shown, not really sure why. I exchanged the onion called for for onion powder (because I ended up throwing everything in the blender) and added a bit of garlic powder. Oh, I had to add a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. It was way too thin to stay on the chicken while it was being grilled. Otherwise, I kept it true to the recipe. This doubles well for those who like a lot of sauce on their meat. Excellent sauce! I see no need to buy premade sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States