Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Fantastic! I also doubled the recipe so I could have sauce for turkey meatballs later in the week. I poured the sauce over a large pkg of chicken drumettes and baked in the oven until the chicken was done. I did not add the 1/4 cup vegetable oil to the sauce and didn't think it needed it. I also went lighter on the vinegar as recommended by others. I used brown, spicy mustard that I had on hand. We had mashed potatoes and cole slaw with this marvelous meal. This was great Irene. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Can I give 10 stars because I would !! AMAZING !! I did 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper (kid friendly) I also added some wet garlic Diced up 1/2 an onion My husband can't stop ranting about it. Thank you so much for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
It's good, just be carefull with the liquid smoke, a little goes a long, long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is wonderful. I highly recommend it. I made it exactly as the recipe. I don't like reading reviews where people write a lengthy paragraph of how they changed and added. That to me is making your own recipe and not rating the original recipe. Thanks for this wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
thanks for sharing this recipe, i used less vingar, added honey, plus i used more ketchup, added a few drops of tabasco sauce, and some white sugar to it. loved on my grilled baby back ribs,apply sauce as u turn ribs over while cooking. also good for just dipping the ribs into sauce as you eat them. LIP SMACKIN' GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SMOOCHIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwiggyTee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cameron, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I was very surprised how good this was. The ingredients were not intuitive for me, and the smell of the sauce base boiling was NOT very good! I baked chicken with this sauce, reserving some for a final basting - and it was really, truly great, and I was so pleased that it wasn't heavily laden with sugar like so many sauces. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is a great sauce thank you for sharing! It was just a little to much salt for us so next time I will cut the salt outside of that it was wonderful! I had a pork roast left over and chunked it put it in the sauce had a yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Easy to make and tastes great, my husband kept complimenting me, because I don't cook that often, he has even asked me to make it again. You can't get a better review than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Well, I get a grade of "D" for following directions. I dumped all ingredients in the beginning instead of saving the last 3 to dump in the last couple minutes. Oh well, still turned out fabulous. I used honey instead of brown sugar (did not have any) and added some dried chipotle powder and Sriracha since I like it spicy! This sauce is delicious. Used it on Smokey Mountain Chicken recipe also on this site. Next time I'll cook it correctly and see if it makes a difference, and I don't think it needs quite that much oil so I'll reduce it by about 1/3 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Didn't have liquid smoke or cayenne, so I subbed chipotle pepper (used one pepper and about a tablespoon of the adobo sauce)--it covered both the smokiness and the heat well. I give this 4 stars instead of 5 because I found it a bit too vinegar-y; at the end I added a bit more ketchup and a few teaspoons of honey. Nice flavor--sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States