Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This has got to be the best barbeque sauce recipe i've ever run across on this site! My mother had a recipe very similar to this one but i think this one has it beat. I do add a tbsp of molasses and use 1 tbsp splenda brown sugar. Otherwise, no other changes. I've used it on pulled pork and grilled chicken now...can't see using any other bbq sauce recipe ever again! Thanks for a great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
A great base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Absolutely awesome! The only changes I made: I used 1 T of brown sugar instead of 2, no cayenne (for the kids), a little less oil (less fat), and I used smoked salt instead of liquid flavor (I didn't have any). This is the only BBQ sauce I'll be using for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this one night because I had all of the ingredients. OMG! For my first time ever making BBQ sauce, I was so impressed I could've drank the stuff. I've now made it twice and I'm planning on doing it again. The first two times I made recipe exactly as stated, but next time I will dice the onions instead of slicing. Thanks so much for a great sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a very good sauce it will be a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linjoyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I Loved this sauce! I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This sauce was really really good. definately a keeper in the recipe box. i added half a habanero pepper and it gave it some spice, while i doubled on the ketchup and brown sugar. so at first its sweet then comes the spice. it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was pretty good- I wasnt wanting to eat it plain but when mixed with the ribs and green onion and pepper it turn out nicely. It wouldnt be my absolut favortie, but I will prob use it again, and use brown mustard instead of yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
My ALL TIME Favorite BBQ sauce recipe.. I've made a few from this site and this one is by far the best! Thanks so much for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
YUM! I took the advice from some other reviews and added 2 tablespoons of water and 1 teaspoon brown sugar. I also added about 1-2 tablespoons of maple syrup, about 1/4 cup red wine and a shot of scotch after the initial 20 minutes of simmering. I brought it back to a boil, and let it boil about 3 minutes or so (longer if you want to boil more of the booze off). I can't wait to eat this with my chicken tonight; the sauce was amazing on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States