Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I hate to do this, but we followed the directions to a T, and thought this was just awful. The spice was nice, but it was way, way too acid, it was like oily vinegar with some ketchup thrown in. I think we are going to play with this one a little bit, though, it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I didn't have kethcup on hand, so instead i used a can of tomato sauce and paste. I let it cook on low for about 15-20. It was to tart, but that could be because of my substitutions. I'm not sure. I used it on pulled pork sandwiches, it was really good. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good and very easy but it really doesn't make a lot. I would double for my 4.5 lb beef brisket in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Perfect quantity, perfect basic recipe. Just what I was looking for. Easy and fast, too! I've made variations on this simply by adding a jalapeno, or some hot chili sauce, molasses, whatever you feel like. But this is a great basic to add to your repertoire. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe was great. I added honey also because my husband likes sweet and spicy turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe for barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful flavor. I made just a couple of adjustments because the sauce was really spicy (I like that but too spicy for the kids). First off I doubled the recipe then did 3/4 brown sugar, 1 1/2 c. ketchup, and then added 2 T. molasses. I also only put in 1/2 an onion instead of 2. I think next time I'll cut them up really small instead of slicing. We put them on ribs tonight & it was soooo good! Thank you Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This BBQ sauce is AWESOME! I needed a quick BBQ sauce as my husband decided to grill a whole mess of meat for me, to get us through the next few days and I found that there was nothing in our cupboards to slather the chicken with. Mine came out lighter than the picture shown, not really sure why. I exchanged the onion called for for onion powder (because I ended up throwing everything in the blender) and added a bit of garlic powder. Oh, I had to add a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. It was way too thin to stay on the chicken while it was being grilled. Otherwise, I kept it true to the recipe. This doubles well for those who like a lot of sauce on their meat. Excellent sauce! I see no need to buy premade sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I was looking for a sauce that was not too sweet and I found it. As did many others, I left out the liquid smoke and it still turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was good with additions for my family. This was too vinegary and spicy for the kids. Addition of 2 tablespoons of water, 2 tablespoon ketchup, 1 tablespoon dark corn syrup, 1 teaspoon brown sugar. Nice and sweet with a slight heat undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was fantastic! Was very simple to make, and the taste can't be beat. Not to mention it's much healthier than the stuff in the store. I simmered on low for an extra 20 min. and it thickened up nicely! Thanks so much, I'll never buy the bottled stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ann Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States