Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good and very easy but it really doesn't make a lot. I would double for my 4.5 lb beef brisket in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Perfect quantity, perfect basic recipe. Just what I was looking for. Easy and fast, too! I've made variations on this simply by adding a jalapeno, or some hot chili sauce, molasses, whatever you feel like. But this is a great basic to add to your repertoire. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe was great. I added honey also because my husband likes sweet and spicy turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe for barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful flavor. I made just a couple of adjustments because the sauce was really spicy (I like that but too spicy for the kids). First off I doubled the recipe then did 3/4 brown sugar, 1 1/2 c. ketchup, and then added 2 T. molasses. I also only put in 1/2 an onion instead of 2. I think next time I'll cut them up really small instead of slicing. We put them on ribs tonight & it was soooo good! Thank you Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This BBQ sauce is AWESOME! I needed a quick BBQ sauce as my husband decided to grill a whole mess of meat for me, to get us through the next few days and I found that there was nothing in our cupboards to slather the chicken with. Mine came out lighter than the picture shown, not really sure why. I exchanged the onion called for for onion powder (because I ended up throwing everything in the blender) and added a bit of garlic powder. Oh, I had to add a couple tablespoons of tomato paste to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. It was way too thin to stay on the chicken while it was being grilled. Otherwise, I kept it true to the recipe. This doubles well for those who like a lot of sauce on their meat. Excellent sauce! I see no need to buy premade sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I was looking for a sauce that was not too sweet and I found it. As did many others, I left out the liquid smoke and it still turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was good with additions for my family. This was too vinegary and spicy for the kids. Addition of 2 tablespoons of water, 2 tablespoon ketchup, 1 tablespoon dark corn syrup, 1 teaspoon brown sugar. Nice and sweet with a slight heat undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was fantastic! Was very simple to make, and the taste can't be beat. Not to mention it's much healthier than the stuff in the store. I simmered on low for an extra 20 min. and it thickened up nicely! Thanks so much, I'll never buy the bottled stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ann Steele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I like a sweeter barbeque sauce, so I added 1/2 cup brown sugar, a tablespoon or so of molasses, and a small can of tomato paste. I used it on grilled chicken breasts and my husband raved about it. Looks like we won't be buying the bottled stuff again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Used this with pork bbq sandwiches in the slow cooker. Excellent!!!! We chopped the onion finely though instead of sliced, that's the only thing we changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States