Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was a tastey sauce! I wish I would have made more of it. I know next time to scale it up quite a bit. I used half red onion and half yellow. I also pulled the onions out so the kids could not see them. They were yummy by themselves. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My family LOVES this sauce and are constantly asking me to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonfire!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My friends loved this sauce and asked me to make it again for his birthday. I used it on pork ribs in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I let this age several days, which allowed the vinegary flavor to mellow. It was very good indeed. I'll be making it for gifts come Christmas. I did make some changes: I halved the amount of vinegar (used water to make up the liquid volume) and substituted balsamic instead of distilled white. I used lime instead of lemon juice. I diced the onions and carmelized half of them before adding to the sauce. I used half the amount of sugar and used tomato paste instead of ketchup (I really don't like sweet BBQ sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
i never made homemade bbq sauce before and i couldn't believe how good it was.i did cut back on the vinegar and peppers because i don't do to well with spicy stuff but this was delish! it was so good i was sipping it from a cup. i kept going back just taking little sips it was crazy. oh yeah i also added much more brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
First time I've ever made BBQ sauce from scratch. I really like a sweeter sauce, so I added much more brown sugar. Very nice, will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I hate to do this, but we followed the directions to a T, and thought this was just awful. The spice was nice, but it was way, way too acid, it was like oily vinegar with some ketchup thrown in. I think we are going to play with this one a little bit, though, it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I didn't have kethcup on hand, so instead i used a can of tomato sauce and paste. I let it cook on low for about 15-20. It was to tart, but that could be because of my substitutions. I'm not sure. I used it on pulled pork sandwiches, it was really good. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good and very easy but it really doesn't make a lot. I would double for my 4.5 lb beef brisket in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Perfect quantity, perfect basic recipe. Just what I was looking for. Easy and fast, too! I've made variations on this simply by adding a jalapeno, or some hot chili sauce, molasses, whatever you feel like. But this is a great basic to add to your repertoire. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States