Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent sauce! The only thing I changed was to cut the salt to 1/2 tsp -my husband needs to watch his salt intake and we don't like things overly salty anyway. Next time I might leave it out entirely. The kids loved it! Put it over chicken breasts in the slow cooker. Yummy!!! I will never buy barbeque sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Such a great sauce, I added this to shredded beef and made sandwiches. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This sauce was great. I took some of the other reviewers suggestions and only used 1/2 onion and 1/2 the vinegar. I didn't have any liquid smoke, so I just added an extra tablespoon of worcestershire. I added an 1/4 extra cup of water and cut the oil by 1/2 because it was a little oily. Really good sauce tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
this is really spicy but good. if you make it for kids to eat too omit the cayenne. i made two batches ( small) of this and its good with or without the cayenne pepper. a nice change not my favorite but good for a new taste on your bbq. i used kens carnitas i had leftover to make bbq sandwiches with this and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Fantastic! I also doubled the recipe so I could have sauce for turkey meatballs later in the week. I poured the sauce over a large pkg of chicken drumettes and baked in the oven until the chicken was done. I did not add the 1/4 cup vegetable oil to the sauce and didn't think it needed it. I also went lighter on the vinegar as recommended by others. I used brown, spicy mustard that I had on hand. We had mashed potatoes and cole slaw with this marvelous meal. This was great Irene. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Can I give 10 stars because I would !! AMAZING !! I did 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper (kid friendly) I also added some wet garlic Diced up 1/2 an onion My husband can't stop ranting about it. Thank you so much for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
It's good, just be carefull with the liquid smoke, a little goes a long, long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is wonderful. I highly recommend it. I made it exactly as the recipe. I don't like reading reviews where people write a lengthy paragraph of how they changed and added. That to me is making your own recipe and not rating the original recipe. Thanks for this wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
thanks for sharing this recipe, i used less vingar, added honey, plus i used more ketchup, added a few drops of tabasco sauce, and some white sugar to it. loved on my grilled baby back ribs,apply sauce as u turn ribs over while cooking. also good for just dipping the ribs into sauce as you eat them. LIP SMACKIN' GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SMOOCHIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwiggyTee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cameron, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I was very surprised how good this was. The ingredients were not intuitive for me, and the smell of the sauce base boiling was NOT very good! I baked chicken with this sauce, reserving some for a final basting - and it was really, truly great, and I was so pleased that it wasn't heavily laden with sugar like so many sauces. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States