Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Yeah it was a little oily but not in a bad way, not to us at least. I liked this a lot actually. The onion really stood out. With a little cinnamon & honey addition I will probably make this again. Thanks for sharing BOBEVERLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed recipe exactly as written, but I thought it was too much oil for my taste. Perhaps I didn't let it boil long enough. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I left out the cayenne entirely, since we don't like super spicy bbq, and added a few dashes of Crystal hot sauce. I replaced the 1/2 cup water with 1/2 cup coffee leftover from breakfast to add some depth and it was great. I made 1 recipe's worth and put it in the crockpot with some already cooked and shredded meat - there were about 8 helpings of meat and there wasn't nearly enough sauce. Luckily its quick and easy and cheap so I whipped up another batch to serve at the table. I poured the remainder of the pot in w/ the tupperware with the leftover meat and my lunch tomorrow is going to KICK A$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Great starter recipe. I had some bacon grease in the skillet from lunch. I sliced green onions and chopped up a clove of elephant garlic and sauteed. like another poster, i used tomato paste. and sauteed that with the onions n garlic (kinda sweated some of the liquid out...) added lemon juice, mustard, course red pepper, liquid smoke, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, splash of vinegar and salt. unfortunately, i never measured anything so now I have an AWESOME bbq sauce and have no idea exactly how I got there. will just start with this recipe again next time. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Absolutely AMAZING and super simple to make! After trying this I will never go back to store bought sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great sauce. I didn't have any Worcheshire sauce, so I threw in a dash of A1 instead. It had a little more bite than I'd like, so I added a couple tablespoons of applesauce and the result was perfection. I'll definitely double (or triple) the recipe in the future so I can apply it more liberally. I slow cooked a brisket in diluted sauce then topped with more sauce and it was amazing. Can't wait to barbeque with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent sauce! The only thing I changed was to cut the salt to 1/2 tsp -my husband needs to watch his salt intake and we don't like things overly salty anyway. Next time I might leave it out entirely. The kids loved it! Put it over chicken breasts in the slow cooker. Yummy!!! I will never buy barbeque sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Such a great sauce, I added this to shredded beef and made sandwiches. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This sauce was great. I took some of the other reviewers suggestions and only used 1/2 onion and 1/2 the vinegar. I didn't have any liquid smoke, so I just added an extra tablespoon of worcestershire. I added an 1/4 extra cup of water and cut the oil by 1/2 because it was a little oily. Really good sauce tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
this is really spicy but good. if you make it for kids to eat too omit the cayenne. i made two batches ( small) of this and its good with or without the cayenne pepper. a nice change not my favorite but good for a new taste on your bbq. i used kens carnitas i had leftover to make bbq sandwiches with this and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States