Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Loved it. I used sunflower oil instead of vegetable oil for a healthier substitute and used chipotle seasoning instead of liquid smoke. This stuff is the real deal. My mouth is still watering just thinking about the leftover sauce I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a great barbeque sauce. I prefer a zesty, more savory bbq sauce and this was perfect! The entire two cups were used on one slab of baby back ribs and we all wished that we had more for dipping. I will probably double the recipe the next time I make this. FYI: I like to read reviews and often apply reviewer suggestions when I make a recipe I find here. For this recipe, I left out the vegetable oil (as suggested), used dried minced onion in place of fresh (since I don't like a strong onion flavor or texture) added 1 tsp of chopped garlic (as suggested) and substituted apple cider vinegar for white vinegar, as suggested and due to personal preference). I will definitely be making this again! Thank you BOBEVERLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KidsAreReadingUsborneBooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I really like this recipe! It's exactly the way I like my bbq sauce! The only change I would suggest is use way less oil, as it is oily. I used just a pinch less, but next time will cut it in half. Wish I doubled this recipe, it's that good! Making ribs tonight for dinner and wanted a homemade bbq sauce to slather on them! This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a very nice recipe. I've been using it for a while now, and it is a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Excellent even without W sauce! bc I didnt have any on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyann1886

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waymart, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
this is some of the only bbq sauce I will eat! I like that it is a little spicy. Once you make your own you will never buy the bottled stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Nice tangy bbq sauce. Easy to make. The onions were chunky in it. I used it in a baked bbq beef recipe, if I were going to use it as a side I would probably run it through the food processor to get a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This sauce is absolutely excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Constantine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
this was okay. I also pureed the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Made as is in recipe, did not change anything. Made twice because I had to be sure there was no error prior to giving a bad review. DOES not taste like BBQ sauce. Too much vinegar and very oily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States