Irene's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I loved that this recipe made a sane amount of sauce and I don't need a 2nd fridge to store the unused portion. I had everything on hand which made it my chosen recipe for tonight's dinner. I altered the technique not the ingredients a bit. I pureed the onions and sauteed that mix in the oil and then dumped all the ingredients together and simmered. Looking forward to it on my chicken...it was good on my finger so it must be good on chicken, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe is great fresh as a marinade but not as a dip. I didn't get to taste it aged but I can tell you it's wonderful on grilled chicken. It's not my personal favorite flavor but it is very unique (in a positive way) and well-spiced. We will definitely be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Delicious!! Followed the recipe just as directed except I cooked the onions in the oil first. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Best Barbeque Sauce recipe I've tried! I usually just throw stuff together until it tastes good, but I'm glad to have tried this recipe and will definitely keep it in my collection! Thank you for sharing ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very good and tangy I did put in a bit 2 + TBLS of water and 2 TBLS of Ketchup and a little less oil and let it simmer 15 or more min EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This sauce is spicy and awesome as written! I did have to make a few changes because of my hubby's restricted diet ( tomato paste instead of ketchup, simmering onions then removing them, and smoked paprika in lieu of liquid smoke, and just used water instead of oil). Way better tasting (and for you) than anything you'll find in the store! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Loved it. I used sunflower oil instead of vegetable oil for a healthier substitute and used chipotle seasoning instead of liquid smoke. This stuff is the real deal. My mouth is still watering just thinking about the leftover sauce I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a great barbeque sauce. I prefer a zesty, more savory bbq sauce and this was perfect! The entire two cups were used on one slab of baby back ribs and we all wished that we had more for dipping. I will probably double the recipe the next time I make this. FYI: I like to read reviews and often apply reviewer suggestions when I make a recipe I find here. For this recipe, I left out the vegetable oil (as suggested), used dried minced onion in place of fresh (since I don't like a strong onion flavor or texture) added 1 tsp of chopped garlic (as suggested) and substituted apple cider vinegar for white vinegar, as suggested and due to personal preference). I will definitely be making this again! Thank you BOBEVERLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KidsAreReadingUsborneBooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I really like this recipe! It's exactly the way I like my bbq sauce! The only change I would suggest is use way less oil, as it is oily. I used just a pinch less, but next time will cut it in half. Wish I doubled this recipe, it's that good! Making ribs tonight for dinner and wanted a homemade bbq sauce to slather on them! This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a very nice recipe. I've been using it for a while now, and it is a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States