Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
First try on this recipe came out very good. Can't wait to try it again. I made some slight modifications just because of availability of ingredients: didn't have onion powder so used paprika instead, used chives instead of onions, used cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom, and skipped the mushrooms over the top. Next time I want to add the mushrooms, fresh ones. I also think any reasonable 'cream of' soup would work well (mushroom, chicken, celery, etc). I put rice on the side this time, which was good, but I think next time I'll do mashed potatoes because the sauce that it ends up making sounds perfect for mashed potatoes. Despite my slight adjustments for what was in my cupboard, I think this recipe would be great as is, or with your own personal adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Pretty Soupy and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
One of my husbands favorites! I used one can of cream of mushroom instead of two and only half of a package of onion soup. Also be sure not to cook too long, if they are thin sliced, they dont need to bake that long or they will dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This dish was absolutely amazing. My husband loved it! I did however make a couple changes. I used boneless pork chops and I lined the pan with sliced potatoes. The soup mix made a wonderful gravy. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe. I cut the recipe for the sauce in half, and only used half an onion. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess "Hungry" Harp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Loved this! I have never cooked with pork steaks before and this really made them great. Next time I think I will use boneless porkchops though. They seem less fatty than the pork steaks. Over all, this will become a regular at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
i also used fresh mushrooms and onions and it has been a family favorite ever since...over mashed potatoes or rice is wonderful since there is the extra gravy even my toddlers love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is a wonderful and easy recipe. The only changes I made were: used 8 oz. fresh mushrooms and did not add Worcestershire sauce. I also added a splash of skim milk to the soup/water mixture. Delicious comfort food to warm up the house on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe! I dredged the steaks in a seasoned flour, then browned. I also used baby portabellas and thick cut onion, dredged them in the same seasoned flour and browned them up in the same pan as the pork with a little oil. With the 'shrooms, onions and yummy bits and pieces in the pan, I made a gravy with the cream of mushroom, a little milk and water. Then poured it over the steaks in the crockpot. Cooked for 6 hrs and it melted in your mouth. The gravy was wonderful with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States