Iowa Pork Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Oh my ! ~ This was Wonderful. My husband kept saying how good it was. And almost with each bite he would look at me and give me a thumbs up =) I TWISTED it UP though ~I used what I had on hand. 4 medium to large Pork Steaks,1 inch thick. Subbed mushroom soup with 2(10.75 ounce) cans cream chicken soup. 1 carton fresh mushrooms chopped. 2 med onions chopped. 4 cloves garlic minced. 4 tbsp Worcestershire sauce. 2 (10.75 ounce)cans water. 8 bay leaves. Combined canned and dry soup, water, Worcestershire sauce, and 1 generous tbsp flour. Mix well. Put aside. Chopped all veggies and put aside to rest.Sprinkled salt and pepper, garlic powder on one side only of Pork Steaks. Fried in heavy pot approx 3 to 5 min. each side. *** Stacked in CROCKPOT with Bay Leaves layered between each steak. Put CROCK on warm and covered with lid. Placed onions, garlic in drippings and cooked for 5 min. Added mushrooms, cooked 3 more min. Add soup mixture heat to boiling and cook 4 to 5 min, stirring often. Pour gravy mixture over Pork Steaks in crockpot and cook on high for 2 to 3 hours. Note: I cooked mine for two hrs. We ate them with rice. Steaks were tender, we didn't need a knife. Would have been even more tender, had it cooked for 3 hours. Gravy had a super flavor. Every flavor seemed to burst. Nothing was over powering. If you try this TWIST UP ~ I sure hope you enjoy it =) oh... and don't eat the Bay Leaves LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoBlue77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was a great recipe. Next time I will scale back on the salt a bit just because the sodium in the lipton onion soup mix. My family cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzaanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was very tender. However, I wish that the amount of salt and pepper the author used would have been included rather than saying "to taste." Instead of using onion powder, garlic power, salt and pepper, I used Seasoning Salt. I used the same amount I would normally put on hamburger patties but this came out way too salty. I guess with the sodium content of the dry onion soup mix and the Worcestershire sauce it may have made it too salty. Lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Good stuff. Made as is, and will make it again. Probably a 4.5 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was a total hit! Kids loved it, so that makes it a winner in my house. Will be making this again! I did make a slight change though...We don't like mushrooms, so I omitted them and I used cream of celery rather than the cream of mushroom soup. It was really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent gravy-smothered meal! Browned in garlic-infused olive oil (big fan), set meat aside and cooked fresh sliced mushrooms and chopped onion in the pan for 5-6 minutes, added a glug of brandy (2 to 3 TBS) and set on fire. Stirred in chicken broth in place of water, soup, dry onion soup mix and Worchestershire. Added meat and covered pan with alum foil, stuck in oven for an hour and a half. Simple, tasty, comforting - and flambe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very good. I did not put it in the oven. I just added the soup, onions and mushrooms to the frypan. Covered and simmered until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe works great for either steaks or chops. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Not something I will make again, but wasnt a bad dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethpyatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinckneyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I cant tell you how often i make this, on a budget pork steaks are cheaper and with this gravy it falls apart in your fork.. love this and will use it as a staple always
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States