Iowa City Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These are delicious....the grape nuts add something special with an extra crunch...the dough may be a little crumbly, but it didn't affect the overall outcome once the cookie was baked. I added pecans instead of walnuts and dark chocolate chips. One of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Really loved these. Didn't have any trouble with crumbly cookies or dough. Used 3/4 C king arthur unbleached white flour and 1/4 C whole wheat pastry flour. For the cereal added Cascadian Farms granola as I didn't have grape nuts. Used pecans and dried cranberries instead of chocolate chips. Added 1/2 t cinnamon and 1/4 t salt. VERY GOOD!!!10 minutes did the trick with the heavy duty baking pans I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
A different twist on oatmeal cookies! For those that can't have chocolate - I found using an equal amount of toffee baking bits (Heath) worked just fine! ****Also - WARNING - one past reviewer of this recipe recommends eating this cookie dough RAW - I reported this to Allrecipes and they will not remove the review or put a footnote on this recipe - it is NOT safe to eat raw dough - not just for the raw eggs - but because of the raw flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I really like this recipe. However, the batter is very dry and wants to crumble...which leads to a crumbly cookie. I took the advice of another reader and added a little milk to make the batter hold together. These cookies LOOK best if you roll a golf ball size cookie, then flatten to about half the height of the ball. That makes larger cookies, and needs an extra minute to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Used some old grapenuts--turned out perfect. Had a lot of young people here--they gobbled them up. Liked the reference to Iowa City--my favorite place in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahkim
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Will you believe me if I say these are the best cookies I've ever tasted yet? Pinch me. I'm not dreaming. THEY ARE!! GRAPE NUTS RULE!! I kept everything the same except using 2 cups oats (didn't have enough) and 2 cups of chocolate/toffee bits (didn't have chocolate chips & walnuts). Basically you can use whatever you have in your pantry and I bet these cookies will still rock. The batter is a bit dry (I squished the balls real good) and my cookies DID spread (some turned into cookie bars- still Mmm) and in 10 minutes some of them did burn on the bottom so make sure you keep a close watch over them. btw, GRAPE NUTS RULE!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This dough was so dry and crumbly - difficult to form into cookies. And even decreasing the baking time didn't prevent them from turning out as little dry nuggets. I compared this recipe to other oatmeal cookie recipes that I use and the proportion of oatmeal to butter is much higher in this one. I'll probably stick with my other recipes, but if I make these again I'll cut the oatmeal amount in half. I really liked the crunch of the Grapenuts, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great cookies... nice texture...just the right amount of sweetness. 4/5 instead of 5/5 because I added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe for oatmeal cookies! My whole family ate them up in just a few days. : ) I found that instead of chocolate chips, uses white chocolate chip, and add about a half cup of dried cranberrys! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
The cookie dough wouldn't even stick together. It fell apart! I had to improvise...I guess I didn't do a good job on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States