International Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Delicous! Finally found stew recipe my husband likes. Spices are outstanding so can probably play with the vegetables. I just make half the recipe. It is sooo easy - dump ingredients into a pot, put the cover on, and come back in 6 hours. My kind of cooking. Thank you Jim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Excellent Stew! I followed the other recommendations and used less rosemary, way less, only 1/2 teaspoon. I also coated the stew meat in flour and browned in 1/4 cup of butter. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
The recipe was wonderful. I would probably cut it in half the next time. This time I will freeze it for later. Also, I would use about half the liquid unless you like a lot of liquid which I thickened with Flour/water. Served with cheesy biscuits. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I made this for the fall hunting party of 15. They raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
The best stew I've made yet. I used water to cover the veggies and added cornstarch at the end. Next time I'm definitely going to substitute barley for the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I tried this recipe for company - 4 adults and 2 children. The children ate but were a bit slow with praise. The adults loved it. Only problem with this is that there's WAY too much rosemary. Also, there must be a misprint, because there's NO WAY you can make this with 8 cups of water. My Dutch oven only allowed me to put in 3 and that was more than enough. To compensate for the overwhelming flavor of rosemary - because that's all we could taste - we added more crushed tomatoes and beef broth. Next time I made it I will use only a taste of rosemary. But it was simple and very flavorful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Very tasty stew. Cooking in oven not only made the meat tender, it made the house smell good. Easy recipe adaptable to any veges. Added more garlic to our taste and reduced rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Way too much water to be called a stew, so I called it beef soup and the family loved it. I decreased the rosemary and added other spices my family likes. If you want a stew, I'd only add water to cover the meat and veggies and I'd add some flour or cornstarch, if needed, a half-hour before serving. This is a keeper because it's so easy and the meat is so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
We really enjoyed this one. We did decrease the rosemary a lot--by 75%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Added in red wine and other stuff to try and save the meal, but still didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States